1776, Directed by Frank Galati, to Play American Conservatory Theater; Casting Announced

News   1776, Directed by Frank Galati, to Play American Conservatory Theater; Casting Announced
American Conservatory Theater (A.C.T.) will kick off its 2013–14 season with the Tony-winning musical 1776.

Directed by Frank Galati, the musical runs Sept. 11-Oct. 6.

1776, which features music and lyrics Sherman Edwards and a book by Peter Stone, is based on the events surrounding the signing of the Declaration of Independence. 

The cast of 1776 features John Hickok (John Adams), Abby Mueller (Abigail Adams), Andrew Boyer (Benjamin Franklin), Ryan Drummond (Richard Henry Lee), Steve Hendrickson (Andrew McNair), Richard Farrell (Dr. Lyman Hall), Dan Hiatt (Stephen Hopkins), Jarrod Zimmerman (Edward Rutledge), Alex Shafer (Col. Thomas McKean), Jerry Lloyd (Caesar Rodney), Jeff Parker (John Dickinson), Bernard Balbot (James Wilson), Ian Simpson (John Hancock), Noel Anthony (Charles Thomson), Brandon Dahlquist (Thomas Jefferson), David Ledingham (Dr. Josiah Bartlett), Mark Farrell (George Read), Keith Pinto (Roger Sherman), Morgan Mackay (Lewis Morris), Colin Thomson (Samuel Chase), Benjamin Pither (Joseph Hewes), Ian Leonard (Reverend John Witherspoon), Dillon Heape (Robert Livingston), Andrea Prestinario (Martha Jefferson), Zach Kenney (The Courier) and Justin Travis Buchs (Leather Apron).

"In the spirit of the remarkable national political debates spurred on by the acclaimed film 'Lincoln,' 1776 is a vivid musical look at the revolutionary events that shaped our republic more than 230 years ago as our founding fathers wrestled with infighting, held heated debates and negotiated compromises while drafting our Declaration of Independence," press notes state.

"In this era of bitterly partisan politics, we sometimes forget that our own treasured democracy nearly didn't make it out of the starting gate!" A.C.T. artistic director Carey Perloff said in a statement. "This musical is an extraordinary look at the machinations and deal-making that Congress went through to arrive at the Declaration of Independence. Director Frank Galati has taken 1776 and created a production of astonishing immediacy and specificity, in which every move on the chess board is vivid and alive." The creative team includes Peter Amster (choreography), Michael Rice (music director), Russell Metheny (scenic design), Mara Blumenfeld (costume design), Paul Miller (lighting design) and Kevin Kennedy (sound design).

1776 first opened on Broadway in 1969 and ran for 1,200 performances. It received three Tony Awards, including Best Musical.

Tickets and more information are available by visiting act-sf.org or by calling (415) 749-2228.

Today’s Most Popular News: