17th Annual Cabaret Convention Begins Oct. 16

News   17th Annual Cabaret Convention Begins Oct. 16
The 17th Annual New York Cabaret Convention, which spotlights the best of Manhattan cabaret, begins Oct. 16 at the Frederick P. Rose Hall's Rose Theater, The Home of Jazz at Lincoln Center.

The week-long convention kicks off Oct. 16 with a gala opening entitled "Say it With Music." The Irving Berlin tribute is scheduled to feature the talents of Klea Blackhurst, Judy Blazer, Barbara Carroll, Bill Charlap, Karen Mason, Steve Ross, Craig Rubano, Sandy Stewart, KT Sullivan and Lumiri Tubo with a special appearance by Tony Award winner Marian Seldes. The evening will also include the presentation of The Mabel Award to Steve Ross.

A host of vocalists from all over America will take part in the Oct. 17 offering, "Classic Cabaret Cross-Country," which is dedicated to the memory of the late Broadway star Dorothy Loudon. Singers will include Tony Andriacchi, Karen Benjamin, Stephanie Browning, Allan Chapman, Banu Gibson, Marilyn Maye, Amanda McBroom, Sidney Myer, Jan Peters, Billy Stritch and Ronny Whyte. The Dick Gallagher Award will be presented that evening to Ronny Whyte.

"Darling, Je Vous Aime Beaucoup" is the title of the Oct. 18 concert, which will celebrate love songs, including a second act devoted to the work of the late Hildegarde. That evening will boast the talents of Judy Barnett, Eric Comstock, Barbara Fasano, Greta, Jeff Harnar, Justin Hayford, Karen Kohler, Andrea Marcovicci, Georga Osborne, Marlene Verplanck and Ann Hampton Callaway; the latter will receive the Bart Howard Encouragement Award.

Klea Blackhurst, Brandon Cutrell, Natalie Douglas, Stevie Holland, Rosalyn McClore, Suzanne Petri, Karen Saunders, Marcus Simeone and Robert Whorton are scheduled to perform Oct. 19 in an evening titled "It's Today." The concert will feature tunes from The Great Popular Songbook as well as the presentation of the Paula Laurence Award to Klea Blackhurst.

"The Glory of the Gershwins," Ira and George that is, will conclude the 17th Annual Cabaret Convention on Oct. 20. Classic Gershwin tunes will be performed by Nancy Anderson, Christine Andreas, Capathia Jenkins, Sylvia McNair, Beckie Menzie, Tom Michael, Phillip Officer, Jennifer Sheehan, Wesla Whitfield and Julie Wilson. The evening will also include the presentation of the Julie Wilson Award to Jennifer Sheehan. All shows begin at 6 PM. Tickets are priced $25, $40 (or $50) and $100.

The Rose Theater is located at Frederick P. Rose Hall within Jazz at Lincoln Center at Broadway and 60th Street. For more information about the upcoming convention, visit www.mabelmercer.org.


Produced by the Mabel Mercer Foundation, the first annual Cabaret Convention was mounted in 1989. Since that time similar events have been produced in Chicago, Palm Springs, Los Angeles and Philadelphia.

Those interested in making contributions to the Mabel Mercer Foundation, a non-profit organization, should contact Executive Director Donald F. Smith at donald.smith@mabelmercer.org.

Today’s Most Popular News: