2000 Awards Roundup

News   2000 Awards Roundup
Here, in alphabetical order, is a selected list of major theatre awards in 2000. Separate stories on most of these awards are located in the U.S. news section of Playbill On-Line.

Here, in alphabetical order, is a selected list of major theatre awards in 2000. Separate stories on most of these awards are located in the U.S. news section of Playbill On-Line.

ASTAIRE AWARDS (for excellence in Dance)
Nominees announced April 27, 2000. Winners announced & awarded May 18, 2000 at NYC's Hudson Theatre. 2000: Winners: Choreography: Susan Stroman (Contact & The Music Man); Female Dancer: Deborah Yates (Contact); Male Dancer: Clyde Alves (The Music Man).

AUDELCO AWARDS (for Excellence in Black Theatre)
Awards announced and given November 15, 1999. 1999 Winners: Production, Playwright, Director and Ensemble: The Trial of One Short Sighted Black Woman vs. Mammy Louise and Safreeta Mae (by Marcia L. Leslie); Solo: Vinie Burrows (Rose McClendon: Harlem's Gift to Broadway; Pioneer: Olu Dara, Diane McIntyre & Emme Kemp. Achievement: Shauneille Perry; Board of Directors Award: Cultural Odyssey.

CLARENCE DERWENT AWARDS (given by Actors' Equity for most promising performers on the NY scene)
Winners announced May 23, 2000. Awards given June 13, 1999 at Actors' Equity building. 2000 Winners: Sherie Rene Scott (Aida) and Derek Smith (The Green Bird).

DRAMA DESK AWARDS (for New York theatre):
Nominations announced April 25, 2000 at the Friar's Club. Awards Ceremony: May 14, 2000 at LaGuardia High School at Lincoln Center. 2000 Winners: Play Revival: The Real Thing; Musical Revival: Kiss Me, Kate; Play: Copenhagen; Musical: Contact; Solo: Dame Edna; Unique Theatrical Experience: Charlie Victor Romeo. DRAMA LEAGUE AWARDS (for Broadway and Off-Broadway):
Winners announced and awarded May 5, 2000. 2000 winners: Musical: Contact; Play: Copenhagen; Revival: Kiss Me, Kate; Distinguished Achievement: Audra McDonald.

See "Madge Evans-Sidney Kingsley Award"

FANY AWARDS (given by Friends Of NY Theater)
Nominations announced May 3, 2000. Awards given June 25, 2000 at Broadway Grill restaurant. Nominees: The Wild Party (Bway) and Contact have received 9 nominations each.

JOHN GASSNER PLAYWRITING AWARD (administered by the Outer Critics Circle)
Announced May 1, 2000; Given May 25, 2000 at Sardi's with OCC Awards. 2000 Winner: Charles Busch (The Tale of the Allergist's Wife).

GILMAN and GONZALEZ-FALLA MUSICAL THEATER AWARDS (for achievement and promise in American musical theater):
Awards announced mid-July 1999 and given Oct. 18, 1999 at Lincoln Center's Viviant Beaumont Theatre, NYC. 1999 Winners : Douglas Cohen and Polly Pen.

Sponsored by League of Off-Broadway Theatres and Producers. Winners announced April 4, 2000; 14th annual Awards given May 1, 2000 at Lucille Lortel Theatre. 2000 Winners: Play: Dinner With Friends (Donald Margulies); Musical: James Joyce's The Dead; Revival: The Torchbearers (Drama Dept.); Director: Susan Stroman (Contact); Actor: Boyd Gaines (Contact); Actress and Body Of Work: Eileen Heckart (The Waverly Gallery); Lifetime Achievement: Jason Robards; Stars on the Sidewalk: Charles Busch & Israel Horovitz.

Presented by the Dramatists Guild Fund for outstanding contributions to the theatre.
2000 Winners: Playwright Donald Margulies, actress Marion Seldes.

NEW YORK DRAMA CRITICS CIRCLE (Broadway and Off-Broadway):
Winners announced May 9, 2000; Presentations May 16, 1999 at Sardi's. 2000 Winners: Play: Jitney; Foreign Play: Copenhagen; Musical: James Joyce's The Dead.

OBIE AWARDS (for Off-Broadway and Off-Off-Broadway shows):
No nominees announced in advance. Presented May 15, 2000 at Webster Hall, 125 East 11th St., in NYC. 2000 Winners: Playwriting: Harley Granville Barker (Waste); Sustained Achievement: Ping Chong; Sustained Excellence: Deb Margolin; Citation for Production: The Carbon Copy Building; Ensemble: Jitney; Direction: Marion McClinton (Jitney).

OSCAR HAMMERSTEIN AWARD: (given by NYC's York Theatre Company for lifetime achievement in musical theatre):
Announced February 2000; Ceremony: June 5, 2000 at York Theatre. 2000 Winners: John Kander and Fred Ebb.

OUTER CRITICS CIRCLE AWARDS: (for Broadway and Off-Broadway; also see John Gassner Playwriting Award)
Nominees announced April 16, 2000. Winners announced May 1, 2000; Awards given May 25, 2000 at Sardi's Restaurant. 2000 Winners: Broadway Musical: Contact; Broadway Play: Copenhagen; Off-Broadway Play: Dinner With Friends; Off-Broadway Musical: The Wild Party (MTC); Revival Play: A Moon For The Misbegotten; Revival Musical: Kiss Me, Kate; Gassner Award: The Tale of the Allergist's Wife (Charles Busch); Special Achievement: Barry Humphries (Dame Edna); and Philip Seymour Hoffman and John C. Reilly (True West).

PULITZER PRIZE (for American drama):
For shows produced Mar. 2, 1999-Mar. 1, 2000. Award announced April 10, 2000 at Columbia University. 2000: Winner: Dinner With Friends (Donald Margulies). Finalists: In The Blood, King Hedley II

TDF IRENE SHARAFF AWARDS: (for costume design):
Announced March 10, 2000. Given March 31, 2000 at Marriott Marquis. 2000 Winners: Lifetime Achievement: Ann Roth; Young Master: Robert Perdziola; Artisan: Woody Shelp; Posthumous: Lucinda Ballard.

Inductees announced early winter 1999. Ceremony: January 31, 2000 at Gershwin Theater (where names of past winners are inscribed). 2000 inductees: director Gordon Davidson; playwright Tom Stoppard; actress and arts supporter Kitty Carlisle Hart; and actors Hal Holbrook, Robert Morse, Jerry Orbach, Frances Sternhagen and Teresa Wright.

THEATRE WORLD AWARDS (for newcomers)
No nominations. Winners announced May 9, 2000. Given May 23, 2000 at Studio 54. Administered by John Willis. 2000 Winners: Craig Bierko, (The Music Man), Everett Bradley (Swing!), Gabriel Byrne (A Moon for the Misbegotten), Ann Hampton Callaway (Swing!), Toni Collette (The Wild Party), Henry Czerny (Arms and the Man), Stephen Dillane (The Real Thing), Jennifer Ehle (The Real Thing), Philip Seymour Hoffman (True West), Hayley Mills (A Suite in Two Keys), Cigdem Onat (Time of the Cuckoo), Claudia Shear (Dirty Blonde). Special Achievement: Barry Humphries (Dame Edna: The Royal Tour).

TONY AWARDS (for Broadway shows):
Nominees announced May 8, 2000 at Sardi's. Awards announced and given Sunday, June 4, 2000 at Radio City Music Hall. Broadcast on PBS-TV 8-9 PM and CBS-TV 9-11 PM (EST), hosted by Rosie O'Donnell with Nathan Lane. 2000 Winners: Regional Theatre: Utah Shakespearean Festival. Special Awards: Dame Edna: The Royal Tour; Eileen Heckart; T. Edward Hambleton (founder, Phoenix Theatre); agent Sylvia Herscher; Encores! at City Center.


Sponsored by the Theatre Alliance of Greater Philadelphia.
Nominees announced late August 2000. Awards ceremony mid-October 2000.

Sponsored by Boston Theatre Critics Association.
2000 Winners: Special Achievement - Michael Maso (Huntington Theatre Company) and Robert J. Orchard (A.R.T.). Productions: Mary Stuart, Wit, The Old Settler, St. Nicholas.. -- By David Lefkowitz

Today’s Most Popular News: