2003 MAC Award Winners Announced; Mason and Cincotti Named Major Vocalists

News   2003 MAC Award Winners Announced; Mason and Cincotti Named Major Vocalists
The Manhattan Association of Cabarets and Clubs (MAC) Awards were presented April 14 at the Peter Norton Symphony Space.

Colette Hawley and Jay Rogers co-hosted the 7:30 PM presentation, which salutes achievements in cabaret, comedy and jazz. A Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to jazz pianist Barbara Carroll, and both composer Stephen Schwartz and chanteuse Mary Cleere Haran received Board of Directors of Awards. Produced by Barry Levitt, Lennie Watts directed the annual event; musical direction was supplied by David Maiocco.

The complete list of 2003 MAC nominees follows. Winners names are in bold.

Female Vocalist
Barbara Brussell
Audrey Lavine
Julie Reyburn

Male Vocalist
David Gurland
Marcus Simeone 
Lennie Watts

Major Female Vocalist
Betty Buckley
Karen Mason
KT Sullivan Major Male Vocalist
David Campbell
Peter Cincotti
Michael Feinstein

NY Female Debut 
Mychelle Colleary
Lorinda Lisitza
Pam Tate

NY Male Debut 
Ed Alstrom
Brandon Cutrell
Justin Daniel

Jazz Vocalist 
Natalie Douglas
Laurie Krauz
Jennifer Pace

Steven Brinberg
Tommy Femia
Chuck Sweeney

Female Stand-Up Comic 
Kim Cea
Poppi Kramer
Nancy Witter

Male Stand-Up Comic 
Rock Albers
Mark Mccombs
Shawn Moninger

Female Musical Comedy
Elaine Brier
Sharon Mcnight
Georga Osborne

Male Musical Comedy 
John Flynn
Morgan Sills
Michael Vaccaro

Vocal Duo/Group
The Accidentals
Karen Mack & Michael Holland
Uptown Express

Mikey Writes It!
Places Please!
What in the World?!

Comedy/Improv/Musical Comedy Duo/Group
Judy Garland & Liza Minnelli Live: Tommy Femia & Christine Pedi
Lovely: Kelly Briggs And Jerry Christakos 
The Marcy & Zina Show: Goldrich And Heisler

Variety Production or Series
Jamie Deroy & Friends
New Mondays
Poole Party

Phil Bond
Erv Raible
Lennie Watts

Technical Director
Michael Barbieri
Robert Kneeland
Shawn Moninger

Musical Director
Dick Gallagher
David Maiocco
Alex Rybeck

Piano Bar/Restaurant Instrumentalist
Bobby Peaco
Jerry Scott
Tracy Stark

Piano Bar/Restaurant Singing Entertainer
Jenifer Kruskamp
Eric Pickering
Ruby Rims

Recording of the Year: Various Artists
Jamie Deroy & Friends
“Jamie Deroy & Friends, Vol. 4: Family”
  The Lounge-O-Leers
“Now That’s What I Call the Lounge-O-Leers Two”
  Jerry Scott with Various Artists
“With a Little Help From my Friends”

Recording of the Year: Female Vocalist
Klea Blackhurst, “Everything the Traffic Will Allow”
Audrey Lavine, “At Home With Arlen”
Karen Mack, “Take That”

Recording of the Year: Male Vocalist
Scott Coulter, “Scott Coulter” 
John Depalma, “The Song Is Mine” 
Joseph “Go” Mahan, “Joseph Mahan” 

Recording of the Year: Major Artist
Ann Hampton Callaway, “Signature” 
Michael Feinstein, “Michael Feinstein and the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra” 
KT Sullivan, “Ladies of the Silver Screen”

For more information about the Manhattan Association of Cabarets and Clubs, go to www.macnyc.com.

Today’s Most Popular News: