2004 MAC Awards Presented May 17

News   2004 MAC Awards Presented May 17
The 2004 MAC Awards, honoring the best in the cabaret and club scene, will be presented May 17 at Peter Norton Symphony Space.

Directed by Gerry Geddes, this year's awards will celebrate the 20th anniversary of the Manhattan Association of Cabarets and Clubs. The evening is scheduled to include appearances and/or performances by Lisa Asher, Helen Baldassare, Judy Barnett, Bobby Belfry, Mario Cantone, Gennifer Flowers, Eileen Fulton, Julie Gold, Jackie Hoffman, Lina Koutrakos, Audrey Lavine, Jim Luzar, Karen Mack, Eric Pickering, Julie Reyburn, John Wallowitch, Lennie Watts and Kristine Zbornick. The annual ceremony will also feature the presentation of two special awards: Peter Howard will receive the Board of Directors Award and the famed jazz group The Manhattan Transfer will receive the 2004 Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Peter Norton Symphony Space is located at 2537 Broadway at 95th Street. Tickets to the 2004 MAC Awards are priced $60, $75, $125 and $250. The $250 ticket includes a post-show party at Carmine's Restaurant, 2540 Broadway. Call (212) 864-5400 or visit www.macnyc.com.

The complete list of 2004 MAC nominees follows:

Female Vocalist
Audrey Lavine
Jeanne Macdonald
Carolyn Montgomery

Male Vocalist
Brandon Cutrell
David Gurland
Marcus Simeone Jazz Vocalist
Mychelle Colleary
Mary Foster Conklin
Natalie Douglas

Major Vocalist
Karen Mason
Mark Nadler
KT Sullivan

Female New York Debut
Robyn McCorquodale
Carol Savvas
Amy Wolk

Male New York Debut
Michael Conley
Shaun Rennie
Steven Ray Watkins

Judy Barnett
John Bucchino
Rick Jensen

Vocal Duo/Group
Scott Coulter & Audrey Lavine, Goin' Home: Songs of the South
Karen Mack & Michael Holland, Gashole
Sue Matsuki & Marcus Simeone, Somewhere Along the Way

Musical Comedy
Sharon McNight, Ladies, Compose Yourselves!
Christine Pedi, Wonderful Songs: An Evening of Comden & Green
Eric Pickering, Ode to Attention Seekers

Musical Comedy Duo/Group
Tommy Femia And Steven Brinberg, Judy Garland and Barbra Streisand Live!
Lorinda Lisitza & Michael Vaccaro, Too Many Johnsons
Modern Man

Steven Brinberg, Simply Barbra: Second Hand Rose on Second Avenue
Tommy Femia, Judy Garland Live
Chuck Sweeney, Miss Peggy Lee In Concert

Stand-Up Comedy
Rock Albers
Poppi Kramer
Nancy Witter

Boobs! The Musical: The World According to Ruth Wallis
Come On And Hear: The Love Story of Irving Berlin
Not Quite What You Expected: The Songs of Bob Ost

Special Production, Variety Production Or Series
New Mondays, Phil Geoffrey Bond, producer
Poole Party, Ron Poole, producer
Timeless Divas, Sandi Durell and Shari Upbin, producers

Piano Bar/Restaurant Entertainer
Leslie Anderson
Ricky Ritzel, Johnny Mercer A-Z
Jerry Scott
Tracy Stark

Musical Director
Dick Gallagher
Rick Jensen
Alex Rybeck
Steven Ray Watkins

Phil Geoffrey Bond
Lina Koutrakos
Erv Raible

Technical Director
Michael Barbieri
Thomas Honecks
Shawn Moninger

Recording: Solo Artist
Judy Barnett, "The Road to My Heart"
Marieann Meringolo, "Imagine...If We Only Have Love"
Stacy Sullivan, "West On 40"

Recording: Group or Compilation, Various Artists
Jamie DeRoy & Friends, "Volume 5: Animal Tracks"
Bob Ost, "Everybody's Getting Into The Act: A Musical Vaudeville"
Chip Deffaa, "The Johnny Mercer Jamboree"

Song Of The Year
Judy Barnett, "Elena Was Lonesome"
Maria Gentile & Caren Cole, Kindness Makes Me Cry"
Andrew Lippa, "I'm Not Waiting"
Paul Rolnick & Paul Guzzone, "South of the Coconut Line"
Bonnie Lee Sanders & Ken Hatfield, "Positive Influences"

Special Material Of The Year
Rob Carlson & David Buskin, " Bumper Huntin'"
Hector Coris & Paul L. Johnson, "In Heaven (They Sing Nothing But Showtunes)"
Rick Jensen, "I Got To Sing!"
Andrew Lippa & Tom Greenwald, "Cindy"
Mary Liz McNamara

Today’s Most Popular News: