2006 Tony Honors for Excellence to Be Awarded Oct. 24

News   2006 Tony Honors for Excellence to Be Awarded Oct. 24
The Tony Awards Administration Committee announced the recipients of the 2006 Tony Honors for Excellence in Theatre Sept. 22. The honorees will be feted Oct. 24 at Tavern on the Green.
Gerard Alessandrini
Gerard Alessandrini Photo by Aubrey Reuben

The Tony Honors, according to a press statement, "recognize contributions to the field of theatre for individuals and organizations that are not eligible in any of the established Tony categories." This year's honorees include the BMI Lehman Engel Musical Theatre Workshop, Forbidden Broadway and its creator Gerard Alessandrini, Samuel (Biff) Liff and Ellen Stewart. The BMI Workshop has nurtured new musical theatre talent for over 45 years. Among the writers who were trained at the workshop include Maury Yeston, Stephen Flaherty and Lynn Ahrens.

Samuel (Biff) Liff is a senior vice president of the William Morris Agency. Throughout his lengthy career he has been an associate producer to David Merrick, the Broadway stage manager of My Fair Lady, and he currently represents such theatre icons as Jerry Herman and Chita Rivera.

Gerard Alessandrini is the creator of the long-running Off-Broadway revue Forbidden Broadway, which pokes fun at the theatre and its many stars.

Ellen Stewart is the founder/director of La MaMa E.T.C., which has presented over 2,000 productions since its launch in 1961.

For more information about the Tony Awards visit www.tonyawards.com.

Today’s Most Popular News: