2009 Larson Winners Guest on "Working in the Theater" March 29

News   2009 Larson Winners Guest on "Working in the Theater" March 29
A host of emerging musical theatre composers will join American Theater Wing Chairman Ted Chapin on the March 29 broadcast of "Working in the Theater."

Chapin will moderate the program, which is titled "New Writers, New Musicals: The 2009 Jonathan Larson Grants" and features Mark Allen, Dave Malloy, as well as the songwriting team of Thomas Mizer and Curtis Moore. The participating writers, including Ryan Scott Oliver, were honored with the 2009 Larson grants at a ceremony in Manhattan on March 17. The writers will discuss how they became involved in musical theatre, as well as the programs and workshops that have been essential to the evolution of their own work. They will also discuss their own artistic process and their experiences dealing with the business aspects of writing for the contemporary musical theatre scene.

The American Theatre Wing's "New Writers, New Musicals" airs March 29 at 5 PM, with additional airings on April 3 and 4 on CUNY TV. On April 1 the program will be available for download by visiting AmericanTheatreWing.

Today’s Most Popular News: