31st Bistro Awards Presented Tonight

News   31st Bistro Awards Presented Tonight
Molly Pope, Kelli Barrett and Tony nominee Jarrod Spector are among the 2016 winners.
Molly Pope
Molly Pope

Molly Pope, Kelli Barrett and Tony nominee Jarrod Spector are among those being honored at this year's Bistro Awards. Cabaret's oldest award is being celebrated at a gala at the Gotham Comedy Club March 8.

The annual awards recognize outstanding achievement in New York cabaret, jazz and comedy. Spector, who received a Tony nomination for his performance in the Carole King musical Beautiful, is sharing the Bistro honor for Major Engagement with his wife, Barrett, for their appearance at Feinstein’s/54 Below. 

They are joined by jazz singer and lyricist Jon Hendricks (Five Guys Named Moe), who is receiving the ASCAP Bob Harrington Lifetime Achievement Award; Annie Ross, who is being honored with a Bistro Award for her Outstanding Contributions to the World of Jazz; and nightlife regular Pope, who is being awarded the Creative Cabaret Artist prize. 

This year's ceremony is hosted by stage and screen actor and four-time Bistro winner Jason Graae. The evening is directed by Shellen Lubin. 

A complete list of the winners is outlined below:

Jon Hendricks / ASCAP Bob Harrington Lifetime Achievement Award
Annie Ross / Outstanding Contributions to the World of Jazz
Janis Siegel / Sustained Excellence in Jazz Performance and Recording
Christine Andreas / Ongoing Artistry in Cabaret and Concert Performance
Jarrod Spector, Kelli Barrett / Major Engagement
Another Hundred People (KT Sullivan, Jeff Harnar, Sondra Lee) / Musical Revue
Sharon McNight / Commanding Cabaret Artistry
Matt Baker / Ira Eaker Special Achievement Award
Molly Pope / Creative Cabaret Artist
Ann Dawson / Vocalist
Dawn Derow / Vocalist
Rob Sutton / Vocalist
Charlie Johnson / Entertainer
Aaron Morishita / Recording ("Singing Sondheim")
Urban Stages’ Winter Rhythms (Frances Hill, Peter Napolitano) / Series

Last year's ceremony honored Tony winner Lillias White, Tony winner Dee Dee Bridgewater, Marilyn Maye, Rita Gardner, Karen Mason, Lee Roy Reams, Darius de Haas and Mary Testa, among others.

Gotham Comedy Club is located at 208 West 23rd St., New York. Visit BistroAwards.com.

Today’s Most Popular News: