67th Annual Theatre World Awards Presented June 7 | Playbill

Related Articles
News 67th Annual Theatre World Awards Presented June 7 The winners of the 67th Annual Theatre World Awards — honoring performers making their New York stage debuts on or Off-Broadway — will be celebrated June 7 at a ceremony at the August Wilson Theatre.

Jonathan Groff Photo by Joseph Marzullo/WENN

The 2 PM ceremony is hosted by Peter Filichia. Barry Keating directs the annual celebration, which is produced by Mary K. Botosan and Erin Oestreich.

Presenters include former Theatre World Award winners Tammy Blanchard (Gypsy, 2003), Gabriel Byrne (A Moon for the Misbegotten, 2000), Zoe Caldwell (Slapstick Tragedy, 1966), Billy Crudup (Arcadia, 1995), Blythe Danner (The Miser, 1969), Edie Falco (Side Man, 1998), Tovah Feldshuh (Yentl, 1976), Jonathan Groff (Spring Awakening, 2007), Rosemary Harris (The Climate of Eden, 1953), Jonathan Cake (Medea, 2003), Jason Danieley (Candide, 1997), John Leguizamo (Special Award, 1993) and Andrea McArdle (Annie, 1977).

There will also be performances by former Theatre World Award winners, including Karen Akers (Nine, 1982), Ernestine Jackson (Raisin, 1974) and John Lloyd Young (Jersey Boys, 2006), as well as a tribute to John Willis, founder of the Theatre World Awards, who died last summer.

Theatre World Award winners for Outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway Debut Performances during the 2010-2011 theatrical season are:

Ellen Barkin, The Normal Heart
Desmin Borges, The Elaborate Entrance of Chad Deity
Halley Feiffer, The House of Blue Leaves
Grace Gummer, Arcadia
Rose Hemingway, How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying
John Larroquette, How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying
Heather Lind, The Merchant of Venice
Patina Miller, Sister Act
Arian Moayed, Bengal Tiger at the Baghdad Zoo
Jim Parsons, The Normal Heart
Zachary Quinto, Angels in America: A Gay Fantasia on National Themes
Tony Sheldon, Priscilla Queen of the Desert

The third annual Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence goes to Seth Numrich of War Horse.

The first annual Lunt-Fontanne Award for Ensemble Excellence goes to the cast of The Motherf**ker with the Hat: Bobby Cannavale, Chris Rock, Annabella Sciorra, Elizabeth Rodriguez and Yul Vázquez.

First presented in 1945, the Theatre World Awards are among the oldest theatrical awards. Traditionally, a committee of theatre writers chooses six men and six women. On occasion, the awards bestow a Special Theatre World Award on "performers, casts or others who have made a particularly lasting impression on the New York theatre scene," as stated on the official Theatre World Awards website. The Theatre World Award winners are chosen by the Theatre World Awards committee, which includes David Cote (Time Out New York, NY1), Joe Dziemianowicz (New York Daily News), Peter Filichia (Newark Star-Ledger, Theatermania.com), Harry Haun (Playbill), Matthew Murray (Talkin' Broadway), Frank Scheck (The Hollywood Reporter) and Linda Winer (Newsday).

For more information about the Theatre World Awards, visit theatreworldawards.org.

Tony Sheldon Photo by Joan Marcus
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!