75th Annual Drama League Award Nominees Announced

News   75th Annual Drama League Award Nominees Announced
Nominees for the 2008-2009 Drama League Awards, which will be held May 15 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel, were revealed April 21. Nominees were announced in four categories: Distinguished Production of a Musical and a Play, Revival of a Musical and Revival of a Play.
33 Variations star Jane Fonda
33 Variations star Jane Fonda Photo by Joan Marcus

Bobby Cannavale, Cheyenne Jackson and Rosie Perez announced the nominees.

Tony Award winners Jeremy Irons, now on Broadway in Impressionism, and Cynthia Nixon, currently Off-Broadway in Distracted, will co-host the 75th Annual Drama League Awards Ceremony and Luncheon May 15.

The nominees for the 75th Annual Drama League Awards follow:

Distinguished Production of a Musical
9 to 5: The Musical - Music and Lyrics by Dolly Parton; Book by Patricia Resnick
Billy Elliot: The Musical - Music by Elton John; Book and Lyrics by Lee Hall
Fela! - Music by Fela Kuti; Book by Bill T. Jones and Jim Lewis
Liza's at the Palace... - Music and Lyrics by Various Artists
The Marvelous Wonderettes - Music by Various Artists; Book by Roger Bean
Road Show - Music and Lyrics by Stephen Sondheim; Book by John Weidman
Rock of Ages - Music by Various Artists; Book by Chris D'Arienzo
Shrek The Musical - Music by Jeanine Tesori; Book and Lyrics by David Lindsay-Abaire
The Toxic Avenger - Music and Lyrics by David Bryan; Book and Lyrics by Joe DiPietro
This Beautiful City - Music, Lyrics by Michael Friedman; Book by Steven Cosson and Jim Lewis

Distinguished Production of a Play
33 Variations - by Moises Kaufman
Black Watch - by Gregory Burke
Chair - by Edward Bond
God of Carnage - by Yasmina Reza
If You See Something, Say Something - by Mike Daisey
Lady - by Craig Wright
reasons to be pretty - by Neil LaBute
Ruined - by Lynn Nottage
Shipwrecked! An Entertainment: The Amazing Adventures of Louis de Rougemont (As Told by Himself) - by Donald Margulies
Why Torture Is Wrong, and the People Who Love Them - by Christopher Durang
Wig Out! - by Tarell Alvin McCraney Distinguished Revival of a Musical
Enter Laughing - Music by Stan Daniels, Book by Joseph Stein
Garden of Earthly Delights - Music by Richard Peaslee
Guys and Dolls - Music and Lyrics by Frank Loesser; Book by Jo Swerling and Abe Burrows
Hair - Music by Galt MacDermot; Book, Lyrics by Gerome Ragni, James Rado
Pal Joey - Music by Richard Rodgers; Lyrics by Lorenz Hart; Book by John O'Hara
West Side Story - Music by Leonard Bernstein; Lyrics by Stephen Sondheim; Book by Arthur Laurents

Distinguished Revival of a Play
Blithe Spirit - by Noel Coward
The Cripple of Inishmaan - by Martin McDonagh
Desire Under the Elms - by Eugene O'Neill
Mabou Mines Dollhouse - Adapted from Henrik Ibsen
Exit the King - by Eugene Ionesco
Joe Turner's Come and Gone - by August Wilson
Mary Stuart - by Friedrich Schiller
The Norman Conquests - by Alan Ayckbourn
Our Town - by Thornton Wilder
The Seagull - by Anton Chekhov
Speed-the-Plow- by David Mamet
Uncle Vanya - by Anton Chekhov 

[The Broadway transfers of [title of show], Dividing the Estate and Next to Normal were previously considered for Drama League Awards during their Off-Broadway engagements, and are thus ineligible this season.]

Cheyenne Jackson, Rosie Perez and Bobby Cannavale
photo by Aubrey Reuben

The Drama League Awards, according to press notes, "pay tribute to the season's best performers by honoring the nominees of The Distinguished Performance Award on a dais." The 75th Annual Drama League Awards dais will feature dozens of performers from the 2008-09 Broadway and Off-Broadway season. This season's dais follows. One of these performers will be presented with the Distinguished Performance Award at the May 15 event.

Jane Alexander - Chasing Manet
David Alvarez, Trent Kowalik, Kiril Kulish - Billy Elliot
Kahlil Ashanti - Basic Training
James Barbour - A Tale of Two Cities
David Wilson Barnes - Becky Shaw
Simon Russell Beale - The Cherry Orchard
Annika Boras - An Oresteia
Christian Camargo - Hamlet
Bobby Cannavale - The Gingerbread House
Matt Cavenaugh - West Side Story
Julia Coffey - The Widowing of Mrs. Holroyd
Lynn Cohen - Chasing Manet
Chad Coleman - Joe Turner's Come and Gone
Gavin Creel - Hair
David Cromer - Our Town
Joshua Cruz - Wig Out!
Mike Daisey - If You See Something, Say Something
Saidah Arrika Ekulona - Ruined
Ensemble - Black Watch
Raúl Esparza - Speed-the-Plow
Rupert Everett - Blithe Spirit
Tovah Feldshuh - Irena's Vow
Jane Fonda - 33 Variations
Sutton Foster - Shrek The Musical
James Gandolfini - God of Carnage
Alexander Gemignani - Road Show
John Glover - Waiting for Godot
Lauren Graham - Guys and Dolls
Nathan Lee Graham - Wig Out!
Josh Grisetti - Enter Laughing
Carla Gugino - Desire Under the Elms
Marcia Gay Harden - God of Carnage
Megan Hilty - 9 to 5: The Musical
Danny Hoch - Taking Over
Marin Ireland - reasons to be pretty
Bill Irwin - Waiting for Godot
Dana Ivey - The Savannah Disputation
Allison Janney - 9 to 5: The Musical
Angela Lansbury - Blithe Spirit
Constantine Maroulis - Rock of Ages
Elizabeth Marvel - Fifty Words
Janet McTeer - Mary Stuart
Ben Miles - The Norman Conquests
Liza Minnelli - Liza's at the Palace...
Maude Mitchell - Mabou Mines Dollhouse
Bruce Myers -The Grand Inquisitor
Sahr Ngaujah - Fela!
Kristine Nielsen - Why Torture Is Wrong...
Cynthia Nixon - Distracted
Denis O'Hare - Uncle Vanya
Karen Olivo - West Side Story
Nancy Opel - The Toxic Avenger
David Pearse - The Cripple of Inishmaan
David Hyde Pierce - Accent on Youth
Martha Plimpton - Pal Joey
Daniel Radcliffe - Equus
Heather Raffo - Palace of the End
Roger Robinson - Joe Turner's Come and Gone
Geoffrey Rush - Exit the King
Thomas Sadoski - reasons to be pretty
Susan Sarandon - Exit the King
Campbell Scott - The Atheist
Christopher Sieber - Shrek The Musical
Michael Stuhlbarg - Hamlet
Will Swenson - Hair
Kristin Scott Thomas - The Seagull
John Douglas Thompson - Othello
Harriet Walter - Mary Stuart
Patrick Wilson - All My Sons

Nine past recipients of the Distinguished Performance Award will also be honored on the dais for their work this past season. They are, however, ineligible for award consideration, as the Distinguished Performance Award is a one-time honor. The past honorees include:

Norbert Leo Butz - Fifty Words
Stockard Channing - Pal Joey
Christine Ebersole - Blithe Spirit
Rosemary Harris - Oscar and the Pink Lady
Frank Langella - A Man for All Seasons
John Lithgow - All My Sons
Mary-Louise Parker - Hedda Gabler
Stephen Rea - Kicking a Dead Horse
Sam Waterston - Hamlet

Earlier this spring, The Drama League announced the recipients of its annual special recognitions: Elton John will receive the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award; Arthur Laurents will be honored with the Julia Hansen Award for Excellence in Directing; and Angela Lansbury will receive the Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award. Broadway porducer Herb Blodgett will receive The Drama League's 75th Anniversary Leadership Award.

Tickets for The 75th Annual Drama League Awards are now available by calling (212) 244-9494 ext. 5 or by visiting www.dramaleague.org.

Christopher Sieber and cast in <i>Shrek the Musical</i>
Christopher Sieber and cast in Shrek the Musical Photo by Joan Marcus
Today’s Most Popular News: