A COVER STORY: Leap of Faith

News   A COVER STORY: Leap of Faith
Leap of Faith, the new Broadway musical about a flim-flam preacher who blows into a small town, begins previews at the St. James Theatre April 3.

Heading the cast will be four-time Tony nominee Raúl Esparza as Jonas Nightingale, Jessica Phillips as Marla Humes, Kendra Kassebaum as Sam Nightingale, Kecia Lewis-Evans as Ida Mae Robinson, Leslie Odom, Jr. as Isaiah Robinson, Krystal Joy Brown as Ornella and Talon Ackerman as Jake Humes.

The company will also feature Hettie Barnhill, Kyle Brenn, Ta’Rea Campbell, Michelle Duffy, Lynorris Evans, Manoly Farrell, Dierdre Friel, Bob Gaynor, Lucia Giannetta, Angela Grovey, Louis Hobson, Tiffany Howard, Grasan Kingsberry, Fletcher McTaggart, Maurice Murphy, Ian Paget, Terita Redd, Eliseo Roman, Bryce Ryness, Ann Sanders, C.E. Smith, Danny Stiles, Dennis Stowe, Betsy Struxness, Roberta Wall and Virginia Ann Woodruff.

The Broadway production will begin previews on April 3 and will open April 26 at 6 PM at the St. James Theatre.

Directed by Tony Award nominee Christopher Ashley, Leap of Faith has music by Academy and Grammy Award winner Alan Menken and lyrics by Glenn Slater. It's based on the motion picture written by Janus Cercone, who shares libretto credit with Tony Award winner Warren Leight ("Side Man"). Sergio Trujillo (The Addams Family, Jersey Boys and Memphis) is the choreographer.

Here's how producers bill Leap of Faith: "When his traveling ministry breaks down in a small Kansas town, part-time reverend and full-time con artist Jonas Nightingale (Esparza) quickly pitches a tent and invites the locals to a revival. The town sheriff, Marla Humes (Phillips) is determined to stop him from separating the townspeople from their money."

Leap of Faith's producers are Michael Manheim; James D. Stern; Douglas L. Meyer; Marc Routh; Richard Frankel; Tom Viertel; Steven Baruch; Annette Niemtzow; Daryl Roth; Robert G. Bartner; Jujamcyn Theaters; Patricia Monaco; Steven and Shanna Silva; Debi Coleman; Dancap Productions Inc.; Steve Kaplan and Center Theatre Group in association with Michael Palitz; Diana Buckhantz; Pamela Cooper; Vera Guerin; Independent Presenters Network; Christina Papagjika; Relativity Media, LLC; Richard J. Stern; Melissa Pinsly/Celine Rosenthal; Semlitz/Glaser Productions and associate producers Victor Syrmis and Rebecca Falcon.

Tickets are available through www.telecharge.com, (212) 239-6200. Ticket prices range from $47-$137.

Visit www.leapoffaithbroadway.com.

Today’s Most Popular News: