A Little Night Music CD Released April 6; Sondheim and Co. Host Signing

News   A Little Night Music CD Released April 6; Sondheim and Co. Host Signing
The two-disc Broadway revival cast recording of Stephen Sondheim and Hugh Wheeler's A Little Night Music, starring Angela Lansbury and Catherine Zeta-Jones, arrives in stores April 6. The cast and composer celebrate with a signing at the Walter Kerr Theatre.

Angela Lansbury and Catherine Zeta-Jones
Angela Lansbury and Catherine Zeta-Jones Photo by Joan Marcus

For the new cast album, which was recorded Jan. 4, orchestrator Jason Carr expanded the eight-piece chamber-sized theatre orchestration of the Trevor Nunn-directed revival. The two-disc, 25-track recording features 12 players and promises a more complete representation of the lush, waltz-kissed musical, including scenes from Harold Wheeler's poignant and brittle libretto.

Composer Stephen Sondheim joins the cast of A Little Night Music for a signing of the new recording from 2-3:30 PM. Patrons are able to purchase the cast recording at the Walter Kerr Theatre. Representatives for the production state that only the 2010 cast recording will be signed at this event.

The track list follows:

Disc One
1. Overture / Night Waltz
2. Prologue: "The night smiles…"
3. Now
4. Later
5. Soon
6. The Glamorous Life
7. Remember?
8. You Must Meet My Wife
9. "A virgin"
10. Liaisons
11. In Praise of Women
12. Every Day a Little Death
13. "The tour's over for a while…"
14. A Weekend in the Country

Disc Two
1. The Sun Won't Set
2. Night Waltz II
3. It Would Have Been Wonderful
4. Perpetual Anticipation
5. Send in the Clowns
6. The Miller's Son
7. Soon (reprise) / You Must Meet My Wife (reprise)
8. "A wooden ring"
9. A Weekend in the Country (reprise) / Every Day a Little Death (reprise)
10. Send in the Clowns (reprise)
11. Last Waltz PS Classics co-founder Tommy Krasker, who produced the album, previously told Playbill.com, "The challenge with Night Music — well, with any cast album, of course — was not just to preserve the score and performances well, but to capture and convey the essence of the production itself. I suggested a fairly expansive approach on Night Music, in great part because it seemed the best way to convey the emotional strengths of this production. I also wanted to make Desiree and Madame Armfeldt more 'present' on disc than they typically are — in particular because of the two charismatic actresses playing them — and that tied in nicely with an expansive approach. I think the discs will do the score and the production proud."

Visit Nonesuch or PSClassics.


Night Music stars Zeta-Jones as Desirée Armfeldt and Lansbury as her mother Madame Armfeldt. The cast also features London Night Music cast member Alexander Hanson as Fredrik Egerman, Aaron Lazar as Count Carl-Magnus Malcolm, Erin Davie as Countess Charlotte Malcolm, Leigh Ann Larkin as Petra, Hunter Ryan Herdlicka as Henrik Egerman and Ramona Mallory as Anne Egerman, with Stephen R. Buntrock, Bradley Dean, Katherine Leigh Doherty, Marissa McGowan, Betsy Morgan, Jayne Paterson, Kevin David Thomas, Keaton Whittaker, Karen Murphy, Erin Stewart and Kevin Vortmann.

A Little Night Music — featuring a score by Sondheim and a book by Wheeler — originally opened at Broadway's Shubert Theatre on Feb. 25, 1973, with a cast that included Glynis Johns as Desiree, Len Cariou as Fredrik and Hermione Gingold as Madame Armfeldt. The show, directed by Harold Prince, garnered five 1973 Tony Awards, including one for Best Musical. The Sondheim score features the composer's best-known tune, "Send in the Clowns," as well as "Every Day a Little Death," "The Miller's Son" and "A Weekend in the Country."

Visit nightmusiconbroadway.com.

The cast of <i>A Little Night Music</i>
The cast of A Little Night Music Photo by Joan Marcus
Today’s Most Popular News: