"A Little Night Music" Film Soundtrack Will Be Released on Disc for First Time

News   "A Little Night Music" Film Soundtrack Will Be Released on Disc for First Time
The film soundtrack for the 1978 film adaptation of "A Little Night Music," featuring Elizabeth Taylor, Len Cariou and Diana Rigg, will be released on CD for the first time by Masterworks Broadway.

The remastered recording of "A Little Night Music" – transferred from the original stereo masters – includes the film version of "The Glamorous Life," previously unreleased instrumental cues and the complete version of "Every Day A Little Death," which is lifted from the mono soundtrack. The carriage ride verse, written specifically for the film, was not included on the stereo master.

The film cast includes Taylor as Desiree Armfeldt, Cariou as Frederick Egerman, Rigg as Charlotte and Hermione Gingold as Madame Armfeldt. Harold Prince, who helmed the stage version, also directed the film.

The album has liner notes by Stephen Sondheim and archivist Peter E. Jones. "A Little Night Music" will be released on disc and digitally Aug. 13.

Masterworks will also release the 1972 U.K. musical, Cowardy Custard, the story of Noël Coward's life told through song and biographical snippets. It features such songs as "You Were There," "Mad About the Boy" and "Marvelous Party," sung by Tony Award winner Patricia Routledge. The double-CD album of the original Mermaid Theatre production will be released Sept. 10.

Also released will be the Julius Monk's café revue Seven Come Eleven. The "series of witty, elegant and original" revues featured Tony winner Mary Louise Wilson, Rex Robbins and Philip Bruns. It will be released digitally and on disc July 16. Visit MasterworksBroadway.com.

Today’s Most Popular News: