A Recurring "Dream": Jennifer Holliday Records Bonus Track on Lysistrata Jones Cast Album

News   A Recurring "Dream": Jennifer Holliday Records Bonus Track on Lysistrata Jones Cast Album
Tony Award winner Jennifer Holliday, one of the original Dreamgirls, has recorded a single version of "Hold On," the inspirational song from the acclaimed Broadway musical Lysistrata Jones. The song will be heard as a bonus track on the show's upcoming cast album, the producers announced on April 5.

Jennifer Holliday
Jennifer Holliday

As previously reported, the cast album featuring music and lyrics by Lewis Flinn will be released by Broadway Records on May 15.

Holliday won a Best Actress Tony Award in 1982 for creating the role of Effie White in Dreamgirls. Lysistrata Jones songwriter Flinn said in a statement, "It was my first Broadway show, and I met Jennifer backstage afterwards. She has been an inspiration for my writing ever since, and I am beyond thrilled that she has recorded one of my songs from my first Broadway musical. Talk about coming full circle."

Flinn has written new lyrics for Holliday, but the message of the song remains the same. 

The album will feature the complete Broadway score as well as the special bonus track. The Broadway cast reunited on March 28 to record the album's vocals to the previously recorded instrumentals.

The troupe will also perform a concert of the show's songs at 7 PM and 9:30 PM April 9 at Joe's Pub. Read more about the Broadway life of Lysistrata Jones in the Playbill Vault

For more information about the album, which is produced by Lewis Flinn and Dean Sharenow and executive-produced by Van Dean and Kenny Howard and Douglas Carter Beane, Sase Sham, Jana Shea and David Huntington, visit www.BroadwayRecords.com. Pre-orders are now being taken at amazon.com.

For more info, visit www.lysistratajones.com.

PlaybillStore.com offers a wide selection a cast albums and theatre-related recordings


The Lysistrata Jones liner notes will include essays from the creative team, as well as complete lyrics.

The track listing is:

1. Right Now: Opening
2. Right Now: Party Time
3. Just Once
4. Change the World
5. No More Giving It Up
6. Lay Low
7. I Don't Think So
8. You Go Your Way
9. Where Am I Now?
10. Writing on the Wall
11. Hold On
12. Don't Judge a Book
13. Right Now: Operetta
14. When She Smiles
15. Hold On (reprise)
16. The Final Game
17. Give it Up!
18. Never Say Never (Curtain Call)
19. Bonus Track: Hold On (With Jennifer Holliday)

Lysistrata Jones re-sets the ancient Greek comedy Lysistrata in a modern college-basketball setting. Tony Award nominee Douglas Carter Beane (The Little Dog Laughed, Sister Act) penned the libretto.

The Broadway company of the well-reviewed musical comedy featured Patti Murin (Lysistrata Jones), Liz Mikel (Hetaira), Josh Segarra (Mick), Jason Tam (Xander), and Lindsay Nicole Chambers (Robin) with Alexander Aguilar ('Uardo), Ato Blankson-Wood (Tyllus), Katie Boren (Lampito), Kat Nejat (Cleonice), LaQuet Sharnell (Myrrhine), Teddy Toye (Harold) and Alex Wyse (Cinesius).

Here's how the short-lived musical is characterized by its creators: "The Athens University basketball team hasn't won a game in 30 years. But when spunky transfer student Lysistrata Jones (Patti Murin) dares the squad's fed-up girlfriends to stop 'giving it up' to their boyfriends until they win a game, their legendary losing streak could be coming to an end. In this boisterous new musical comedy, Lyssie J. and her girl-power posse give Aristophanes’ classic comedy a sexy, modern twist and take student activism to a whole new level."

Broadway Records "is a new label dedicated to Broadway and Off Broadway cast recordings and is a division of the theatrical production and investment company, The Broadway Consortium." Broadway Records' other upcoming releases include Bonnie & Clyde (Original Broadway Cast Recording) and an EP of songs from How To Succeed in Business Without Really Trying featuring Nick Jonas. The Broadway Consortium (www.BroadwayConsortium.com) was co-founded by Van Dean and Kenny Howard. The general counsel for Broadway Records and The Broadway Consortium is Barry Miller.

Today’s Most Popular News: