Actors’ Equity Honors Company of Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812 | Playbill

Broadway News Actors’ Equity Honors Company of Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812
The production is the winner of the ACCA Award for Outstanding Broadway Chorus.
118824 Josh Groban and the Cast of NATASHA, PIERRE & THE GREAT COMET OF 1812 - Photo by Chad Batka.jpg
Josh Groban and the Cast Chad Batka
Actors' Equity Association announced that Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812, recently the winner of two 2017 Tony Awards, will receive the ninth annual ACCA Award for Outstanding Broadway Chorus. The award will be presented June 20 during Equity's National Council meeting.

Presented by Equity’s Advisory Committee on Chorus Affairs, the ACCA Award is the only industry accolade of its kind to honor the contributions made by the original chorus members of a Broadway musical.

The 27 individual recipients of the 2017 ACCA Award, all part of the opening-night Broadway cast, are Sumayya Ali, Courtney Bassett, Josh Canfield, Kennedy Caughell, Ken Clark, Erica Dorfler, Lulu Fall, Ashley Pérez Flanagan, Paloma Garcia-Lee, Nick Gaswirth, Alex Gibson, Billy Joe Kiessling, Mary Spencer Knapp, Blaine Alden Krauss, Reed Luplau, Brandt Martinez, Andrew Mayer, Mary Page Nance, Shoba Narayan, Azudi Onyejekwe, Pearl Rhein, Celia Mei Rubin, Heath Saunders, Ani Taj, Cathryn Wake, Katrina Yaukey, and Lauren Zakrin.

The Great Comet chorus are outstanding both as a unit and as individuals,” said Actors’ Equity Association Second Vice President and Chair of the ACCA Rebecca Kim Jordan in a statement. “They act, they sing, they dance, they play instruments… they even serve pierogis! So much of what makes this show special is how totally the audience is immersed into the world of the show, and that is because these 27 performers go above and beyond, up close and personally, eight times a week.”

In reviewing the chorus of each Broadway musical that opened during the 2016-2017 season, ACCA considered “the chorus requirements made by each show’s director, choreographer and musical director; the caliber of technical skill used to execute those requirements; and the unique contributions made by the entire chorus to the overall production.”

Past Broadway chorus recipients of the ACCA Award are Legally Blonde (2007), In the Heights (2008), West Side Story (2009), Fela! (2010), The Scottsboro Boys (2011), Newsies (2012), Pippin (2013), Beautiful (2014), An American in Paris (2015), and Shuffle Along, Or The Making of the Musical Sensation of 1921 and All That Followed (2016).

Check out footage from the award-winning musical below:

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!