Ain't Too Proud Star Ephraim Sykes, Corbin Bleu, Tina Landau Among 2019 Helen Hayes Award Winners | Playbill

Awards Ain't Too Proud Star Ephraim Sykes, Corbin Bleu, Tina Landau Among 2019 Helen Hayes Award Winners
The awards honor the best of Washington, D.C., theatre.
Ain't Too Proud_Broadway_Production Photos_2019_X_HR
Christian Thompson, Saint Aubyn, Ephraim Sykes (center), Jeremy Pope, Derrick Baskin, and Jawan M. James Matthew Murphy

The winners of the 2019 Helen Hayes Awards, honoring both Equity and non-Equity productions on the Washington, D.C., stage were announced May 13. Among this year's victors were current Tony Award nominee Ephraim Sykes, who picked up an award for his performance as David Ruffin in Ain't Too Proud—The Life and Times of the Temptations ahead of Broadway's biggest night.

The musical played D.C.'s Kennedy Center in summer 2018 as part of a series of pre-Broadway engagements.

Arena Stage led the pack with seven wins, including Outstanding Lead Actor in a Musical for Corbin Bleu (currently on Broadway in Kiss Me, Kate) for his performance in Anything Goes, Eugene Lee (Broadway and Netflix's American Son) for Two Trains Running, and Outstanding Direction in a Musical and Play, respectively, for SpongeBob SquarePants Tony nominee Tina Landau (Dave) and Eric Rosen (Indecent).

Additional winners included Shakespeare Theatre Company's Camelot and Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company's Gloria for Outstanding Production of a Musical and Play, Natascia Diaz for Signature Theatre's Passion, and Heather Raffo, who received the Charles MacArthur Award for Outstanding Original New Play or Musical for Noura (presented at Shakespeare Theatre Company).

For the full list of winners, click here.
Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!