Akron Symphony Names Finalists for Music Director Post | Playbill

Classic Arts News Akron Symphony Names Finalists for Music Director Post
Ohio's Akron Symphony has named five finalists to succeed music director Ya-Hui Wang, the Akron Beacon-Journal reports.
Wang leaves at the end of this season after five years with the orchestra.

The five finalists, chosen from among 180 applicants, are Christopher Wilkins, former music director of the San Antonio Symphony; Paul Polivnick, music director of the New Hampshire Music Festival; John Russell Morris, associate conductor of the Cincinnati Symphony and a former assistant conductor in Akron; David Briskin, music director of the Pittsburgh Ballet Theatre; and Jung-Ho Pak, music director of the New Haven Symphony and former artistic director of the San Diego Symphony.

Each of the finalists will make a guest-conducting appearance with the orchestra next season; the ensemble's choice will be announced in March 2006.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store

Explore Classic Arts:
Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!