Aldredge, Bryggman, Gaines, Hedaya Fill Jury in Twelve Angry Men

News   Aldredge, Bryggman, Gaines, Hedaya Fill Jury in Twelve Angry Men
The Roundabout Theatre Company has ten of its Twelve Angry Men.
Boyd Gaines
Boyd Gaines Photo by Aubrey Reuben

Joining the already announced Philip Bosco in the production are Tom Aldredge, Larry Bryggman, Robert Clohessy, Boyd Gaines, Kevin Geer, Dan Hedaya, Michael Mastro, John Pankow and James Rebhorn.

Scott Ellis directs the jury-room drama set to begin previews Oct. 1 and open officially Oct. 19 for a limited engagement at the American Airlines Theatre through Dec. 19.

12 Angry Men, set in a jury room, tells the story of a murder trial in which a youth is alleged to have killed his father. The case seems like an open-and-shut situation as eleven of the unnamed jurors believe the defendant to be guilty. Juror #8 (Gaines), however, is not so certain, stirring up the room and setting off a number of arguments.

The anonymous deciding dozen lineup will be: Kevin Geer (Side Man) as Juror #2, Philip Bosco (Copenhagen, Lend Me a Tenor) as Juror #3, James Rebhorn (Dinner at Eight) as Juror #4, Michael Mastro (Cat on a Hot Tin Roof) as Juror #5, Robert Clohessy ("Oz," "Hill Street Blues") as Juror #6, John Pankow (Barbra's Wedding, "Mad About You") as Juror #7, Boyd Gaines (Contact, Cabaret) as Juror #8, Tom Aldredge (Twentieth Century, Into the Woods) as Juror #9, Dan Hedaya ("Nixon," "Clueless") as Juror #10 and Larry Bryggman (Proof, Picnic) as Juror #11.

The design team for Twelve Angry Men features Alan Moyer (sets), Michael Krass (costumes) and Paul Palazzo (lights). The remaining cast (Jurors #1 and #12) and design team will be announced shortly. First produced on television as part of CBS' "Studio One" series in 1954, the Reginald Rose work was then expanded into the full-length 1957 feature film, directed by Sidney Lumet, starring Henry Fonda, Lee J. Cobb, Ed Begley, E.G. Marshall, Jack Warden, Martin Balsam and Jack Klugman.

Director Ellis, who serves as an associate artistic director at Roundabout, has staged The Boys From Syracuse, Arthur Miller's The Man Who Had All the Luck, The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, The Rainmaker, 1776, She Loves Me, Picnic and A Month in the Country on Broadway. Other credits include The Waverly Gallery, The Dog Problem, That Championship Season and the NYC Opera staging of A Little Night Music.

Roundabout's revival of Arthur Miller's After the Fall currently plays at the company's Broadway home for classic theatre through Sept. 5. Also slated for the new season is Fool for Love, A Streetcar Named Desire, The Foreigner a musical revival of Pacific Overtures as well as the new plays Fiction and For Reele.

Tickets to Twelve Angry Men at the American Airlines Theatre, 227 West 42 Street will be available in August. For information, call the Roundabout Theatre Company at (212) 719-1300 or visit the website at

Today’s Most Popular News: