Alec Baldwin and Carl Reiner Will Present Dick Van Dyke With SAG Lifetime Achievement Award

News   Alec Baldwin and Carl Reiner Will Present Dick Van Dyke With SAG Lifetime Achievement Award
Veteran writer, director, producer and actor Carl Reiner, along with seven-time SAG Award winner and 18-time nominee Alec Baldwin, will present the SAG 49th Life Achievement Award to Dick Van Dyke at the 19th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards.

Dick Van Dyke
Dick Van Dyke Photo by Reflections Photography/ Washington, D.C.

The annual award ceremony will premiere live Jan. 27 on TNT and TBS at 8 PM ET.

SAG-AFTRA is honoring Van Dyke for his career achievement and humanitarian accomplishments.

Past recipients of the Life Achievement Award include Mary Tyler Moore, Ernest Borgnine, Betty White, James Earl Jones, Charles Durning, Julie Andrews, Shirley Temple Black, James Garner, Karl Malden, Clint Eastwood, Edward Asner, Ossie Davis and Ruby Dee, Sidney Poitier, Kirk Douglas, Elizabeth Taylor, Angela Lansbury, Robert Redford and George Burns.

In a previous statement SAG-AFTRA co-president Ken Howard said, “Dick is the consummate entertainer -- an enormously talented performer whose work has crossed nearly every major category of entertainment. From his career-changing Broadway turn in Bye Bye Birdie and his deadpan humor in the Emmy-winning 'Dick Van Dyke Show,' to his unforgettable performance as Bert in 'Mary Poppins,” he sets a high bar for actors. Stage, big screen, small screen, literally everywhere he has worked he has inspired millions of fans and has had a tremendously positive impact on the industry and the world. He is so deserving of this honor and I congratulate him."

SAG-AFTRA co-president Roberta Reardon added, "With Dick, it's so much more than the proverbial 'triple threat.' He started his career as a radio announcer, game show host and comedian and was a spokesman for Kodak, among numerous other roles over his nearly 60-year career. His contributions to the success of the business and to his fellow performers is legendary as is his work with a number of the leading ladies of our times, including Julie Andrews and Mary Tyler Moore — both previous Life Achievement Award recipients. His infectious laugh has warmed audiences for decades and is an unforgettable facet of his fabulous personality." In addition to his Tony Award for Bye Bye Birdie, Danville, IL, native Van Dyke has won five Emmy Awards. His television series "Diagnosis Murder" aired on CBS for eight seasons. His most recent film was "Night at the Museum," for which he was cast against type as a grumpy old man (he is seen performing dance moves behind the closing credits crawl). When his Bye Bye Birdie co-star Chita Rivera appeared in her own biographical show on Broadway, Van Dyke made a couple of guest appearances.

The 19th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards presented by SAG-AFTRA will be produced by Jeff Margolis Productions in association with Screen Actors Guild Awards, LLC. Jeff Margolis is the executive producer and director. Kathy Connell is the producer. JoBeth Williams, Daryl Anderson, Scott Bakula, Shelley Fabares, Paul Napier, and Woody Schultz are producers for SAG-AFTRA. Gloria Fujita O’Brien and Mick McCullough are supervising producers. Benn Fleishman is executive in charge of production. Rosalind Jarrett Sepulveda is executive in charge of publicity. Jon Brockett is awards coordinating producer. Maggie Barrett Caulfield is the talent producer.

For more information visit


SAG-AFTRA represents more than 165,000 represents actors, announcers, broadcasters journalists, dancers, DJs, news writers, news editors, program hosts, puppeteers, recording artists, singers, stunt performers, voiceover artists and other media professionals.

Today’s Most Popular News: