Alex Edelman to Host Artios Awards | Playbill

Awards Alex Edelman to Host Artios Awards

The 39th annual ceremony honors casting professionals in theatre, film, and television.

Alex Edelman Michaelah Reynolds

Alex Edelman (Just for Us) will host the New York ceremony for the 39th annual Artios Awards, celebrating the work done by casting professionals across theatre, film, and television.

Held March 7 at the Edison Ballroom, additional ceremonies will be held in Los Angeles with host Niecy Nash-Betts, and in London with a to-be-announced host.

"I am thrilled that Alex Edelman will bring his timely and innovative comedic voice as the host of our New York event,” said Destiny Lilly, President of the Casting Society in a statement. “We are also excited to have Niecy Nash as our host in Los Angeles—her dynamic presence, charm, and boundless energy promise to infuse the evening with laughter and heart.”

As previously announced by CSA, Ava DuVernay will be presented with The Lynn Stalmaster Award for Career Achievement. Additionally, Sharon Klein, the head of Casting for Disney Entertainment Television, will be presented with The Hoyt Bowers Award. Both will be recognized in Los Angeles.

The New York event will honor the Drama Book Shop with the Marion Dougherty New York Apple Award, awarding their long standing support and collaborative relationship with casting directors across more than a century. Founded in 1917 by the Drama League, the Drama Book Shop became an independent bookstore in 1923 and since that time has been deemed a quintessential New York City cultural institution.

The Rosalie Joseph Humanitarian Award, given for outstanding contributions to humanitarian causes that have in turn supported the casting community, will be presented to Karlee Fomalont, whose career at ABC and CBS in New York, as well as her work in the independent casting realm, has been lauded.

The Associate Casting Director Spotlight Awards will be presented to Matthew Glasner and Josh Ropiequet. Glasner has cast the Academy Award-winning films Spotlight, Girl on the Train, Little Women, as well as countless TV and limited series programs including The Staircase, The Sinner, and Servant among others. Ropiequet’s work can be seen in the Showtime drama Yellowjackets, CBS’ So Help Me Todd, and one of Norman Lear's final projects, the upcoming Netflix series The Corps starring Miles Heizer and Vera Farmiga

The Capelier-Shaw Award for Excellence in Casting will be presented to Francesco Vedovati by the European Chapter Board of Governors. The Creative Collaboration Award will be presented to the National Film & Television School.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!