Alternate Juror: Peter Friedman Replaces Dan Hedaya in Twelve Angry Men on Broadway

News   Alternate Juror: Peter Friedman Replaces Dan Hedaya in Twelve Angry Men on Broadway
Tony Award-nominated actor Peter Friedman will replace Dan Hedaya in the upcoming Roundabout Theatre Company Broadway premiere of Reginald Rose's Twelve Angry Men.

Friedman will assume the role of the Juror #10. Hedaya withdrew from the production "due to personal reasons," according to a release. The role of Juror #10 was brought to life on screen by Ed Begley in the original 1957 film and more recently in the 1997 television version by Mykelti Williamson.

Friedman originated the role of Tateh in the musical Ragtime for its world premiere in Toronto and on Broadway — for which he received his Tony Award nomination. Other credits include The Heidi Chronicles, The Common Pursuit, A Soldier's Play, ...and a Nightingale Sang, Execution of Justice, My Old Lady, The Tenth Man, The Loman Family Picnic and the Encores! Staging of On a Clear Day You Can See Forever.

Scott Ellis directs the Broadway premiere of the work which begins previews Oct. 1 and opens Oct. 28 for a limited engagement at the American Airlines Theatre through Dec. 19.

Twelve Angry Men, set in a jury room, tells the story of a murder trial in which a youth is alleged to have killed his father. The case seems like an open-and-shut situation as eleven of the unnamed jurors believe the defendant to be guilty. Juror #8, however, is not so certain, stirring up the room and setting off a number of arguments.

The anonymous deciding dozen are Mark Blum (The Graduate) as Juror #1, Kevin Geer (Side Man) as Juror #2, Philip Bosco (Copenhagen, Lend Me a Tenor) as Juror #3, James Rebhorn (Dinner at Eight) as Juror #4, Michael Mastro (Cat on a Hot Tin Roof) as Juror #5, Robert Clohessy (Rounding Third, "Oz") as Juror #6, John Pankow (Barbra's Wedding, "Mad About You") as Juror #7, Boyd Gaines (Contact, Cabaret) as Juror #8, Tom Aldredge (Twentieth Century, Into the Woods) as Juror #9, Peter Friedman (Ragtime, The Heidi Chronicles) as Juror #10, Larry Bryggman (Proof, Picnic) as Juror #11 and Adam Trese (A View From The Bridge) as Juror #12. Matte Osian will perform as a guard. The design team for Twelve Angry Men features Alan Moyer (sets), Michael Krass (costumes) and Paul Palazzo (lights).

For information, call the Roundabout Theatre Company at (212) 719-1300 or visit the website at

Today’s Most Popular News: