American Theatre Wing Now Accepting Applications for Jonathan Larson Grants

News   American Theatre Wing Now Accepting Applications for Jonathan Larson Grants
Applications are now being accepted for the 2010 Jonathan Larson Grants, which are given annually to up-n-coming composers, lyricists and book writers.

The awards, named after the late composer of Rent, were established to help continue Larson's "dream of infusing musical theatre with a contemporary, joyful, urban vitality," according to press notes.

Applications must be post marked by Aug. 29, 2009. Recipients will be announced in January 2010, and their work will be showcased for an invited industry audience in late winter 2010.

Originally administered by the Jonathan Larson Performing Arts Foundation (from 1997-2008), the Jonathan Larson Grants became a part of The American Theatre Wing last fall. Past recipients include Nell Benjamin, John Bucchino, Kirsten Childs, Ricky Ian Gordon, Amanda Green, Joe Iconis and Michael Korie.

Last year's recipients were Mark Allen, whose musical Tinyard Hill is currently in production at Theatreworks, Palo Alto in CA; Dave Malloy, who continues his work with theatre collective Banana Bag and Bodice in August at the Ohio Theatre with Space//Space; songwriting team Thomas Mizer and Curtis Moore, who continue to collaborate on projects including The Legend of Stagecoach Mary; and Ryan Scott Oliver, whose musical, Mrs. Sharp, will have a workshop at Playwrights Horizons featuring Jane Krakowski with direction by Michael Greif later this month.

For complete guidelines and application materials, visit

Today’s Most Popular News: