An American in Paris, On the Town and On the Twentieth Century Lead Astaire Award Nominations | Playbill

News An American in Paris, On the Town and On the Twentieth Century Lead Astaire Award Nominations An American in Paris co-stars Leanne Cope and Robert Fairchild, On the Town's trio of sailors and the four tap-dancing porters from On the Twentieth Century are among the 2015 Fred and Adele Astaire Award nominees, honoring outstanding dance on stage this season.

The Astaire Awards honor excellence in dance and choreography on Broadway and in film. The awards ceremony will take place June 1 at the Skirball Center.

Romance Is Born in Sizzling New Pics From Broadway's An American in Paris

The event will begin with a VIP cocktail reception at 6 PM with the awards presentation and show at 7:30 PM. The ceremony will feature performances from On the Town, Finding Neverland, New York Spring Spectacular and more.

The 2015 Astaire Award nominees follow:

Best Female Dancer:

Annaleigh Ashford - You Can't Take it With You
Leanne Cope - American in Paris
Jill Paice - American in Paris
Megan Fairchild - On the Town
Erin Davie - Sideshow
Emily Padgett - Sideshow
XiaoChuan Xie - The King and I
Melanie Moore - Finding Neverland

Best Male Dancer:
Robert Fairchild - American in Paris
Clyde Alves - On the Town
Tony Yazbeck - On the Town
Jay Armstrong Johnson - On the Town
Phillip Attmore - On the Twentieth Century
Rick Faugno - On the Twentieth Century
Drew King - On the Twentieth Century
Richard Riaz Yoder - On the Twentieth Century
Christian Borle - Something Rotten!
Alex Sharp - The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Best Choreographer:
Christopher Wheeldon - American in Paris
Joshua Bergasse - On the Town
Christopher Gattelli - The King and I
Warren Carlyle - On the Twentieth Century
Casey Nicholaw - Something Rotten!
Scott Graham & Steven Hoggett for Frantic Assembly - The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Steven Hoggett - The Last Ship
Mia Michaels - Finding Neverland

As previously reported, Tony and Academy Award winner Joel Grey (Cabaret) is the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award, while Oscar winner Harvey Weinstein (Finding Neverland) is honored for his Outstanding Contribution to Musical Theatre and Film.

The Astaire awards are presented by producer Patricia Watt and The Douglas Watt Family Fund for the Performing Arts.

The Skirball Center for the Performing Arts at New York University is located at 566 LaGuardia Place. For more information and tickets, visit

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!