Anastasia Barzee Sings Andrew Lloyd Webber, Paul Simon and More on New CD, Due in September

News   Anastasia Barzee Sings Andrew Lloyd Webber, Paul Simon and More on New CD, Due in September
Anastasia Barzee, whose Broadway credits include Urinetown, Jekyll and Hyde and Miss Saigon, will release her first solo recording in September.

Anastasia Barzee
Anastasia Barzee

Entitled "The Dimming of the Day," the recording will be released Sept. 27 on the Ghostlight Records label. The new disc was produced by Matt Pierson and arranged by Gil Goldstein.

In a statement Barzee said, "I wanted to sing songs I have a real connection to. Songs that have moved me - made me think about loss, regret, abandonment, and ultimately finding joy. Essentially, tell the story of what love really is - with all its pain and promise. These are songs I could not have truly understood in my twenties. I also wanted my album to be musically interesting. I didn't want ordinary arrangements of songs we've all heard a million times. I wanted to look at the music fresh."

The recording also features Gil Goldstein on piano and accordion; Larry Campbell on guitars; Larry Grenadier on bass; Kendrick Scott on drums; Bashiri Johnson on percussion; Lois Martin and Louise Schulman on viola; Jody Redhage and Maria Jeffers on cello; Steve Wilson on saxophone; Greg Gisbert on trumpet; and guest vocalist Brian d’Arcy James.

The complete track listing follows:
1. The Man with the Child in His Eyes (Kate Bush)
2. Summer Me, Winter Me (Bergman/Bergman/LeGrand)
3. Lilac Wine (James Shelton)
4. Dinner at Eight (Rufus Wainwright)
5. The Dimming of the Day (Richard Thomspon)
6. Company (Jones/Johnson)
7. American Tune (Paul Simon)
8. Nothing Like You’ve Ever Known (Black/Lloyd Webber)
9. Feels Like Home (Randy Newman)
10. Don’t Go to Strangers (Kent/Mann/Evans)
11. All I Know (Jimmy Webb)
12. Terrible Things (April Smith)
13. April Moon (Robert Lee/Leon Ko) (bonus)

For more information visit

Today’s Most Popular News: