Andy Karl and Orfeh Co-Host the 2018 Chita Rivera Awards May 20

Awards   Andy Karl and Orfeh Co-Host the 2018 Chita Rivera Awards May 20
The ceremony honors the best in dance on stage and screen.
Orfeh and Andy Karl Joseph Marzullo/WENN

Broadway power couple Andy Karl (Groundhog Day, Legally Blonde) and Orfeh (Pretty Woman, Legally Blonde) host the 2018 Chita Rivera Awards, honoring the best in dance on stage and screen, May 20 at 7:30 PM at the NYU Skirball Center for the Performing Arts.

Carmen de Lavallade Joseph Marzullo/WENN

Presenters include 2018 Tony nominees Jessie Mueller and Norbert Leo Butz, plus Joel Grey, Ben Vereen, Jeremy Jordan, Maurice Hines, Lea Salonga, Gavin Creel, Patricia Birch, Len Cariou, Laura Osnes, Robert Fairchild, and Karen Ziemba.

The evening is scheduled to feature performances by Carousel’s Brittany Pollack and Andrei Chagas, Summer Tony nominee Ariana DeBose, Bastard Jones’ Evan Ruggiero and Marc Acito, and a preview of the upcoming Beast of the Jungle by Tony Yazbeck and Irina Dvorovenko, as well as performances by Stephanie Pope, Harvey Fierstein, Ben Crawford, Bryonha Marie Parham, Lindsey Croop, Georgina Pazcouguin, and Calvin Royal III.

As previously announced, Carmen De Lavallade, John Kander, and Harold Prince will receive special honors at the ceremony. Steven Hoggett will receive the inaugural Douglas and Ethel Watt Critics’ Choice Award.


Nominations for the 2018 Chita Rivera Awards (formerly the Fred and Adele Astaire Awards) were revealed April 27. The awards, named after the stage legend (set to receive an honorary Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre Tony Award this year), honor choreographers and dancers on Broadway and Off-Broadway stages, as well as in film.

The Broadway revival of Carousel led the pack for Broadway productions with seven nominations, including nods for Outstanding Choreography for Justin Peck and for Outstanding Ensemble.

See below for the full list of nominations.


Outstanding Choreography in a Broadway Show
Camille A. Brown, Once On This Island
Christopher Gattelli, SpongeBob SquarePants
Casey Nicholaw, Mean Girls
Justin Peck, Carousel
Sergio Trujillo, Summer: The Donna Summer Musical

Outstanding Ensemble in a Broadway Show
Mean Girls
Once On This Island
SpongeBob SquarePants
Summer: The Donna Summer Musical

Outstanding Male Dancer in a Broadway Show
Norbert Leo Butz, My Fair Lady
Andrei Chagas, Carousel
Gavin Lee, SpongeBob SquarePants
Amar Ramasar, Carousel
Tony Yazbeck, Prince of Broadway

Outstanding Female Dancer in a Broadway Show
Yesenia Ayala, Carousel
Ariana DeBose, Summer: The Donna Summer Musical
Hailey Kilgore, Once On This Island
Katrina Lenk, The Band's Visit
Skye Mattox, Carousel
Ashley Park, Mean Girls
Brittany Pollack, Carousel

Outstanding Choreography in an Off-Broadway Show
Nejla Yatkin, The Boy Who Danced on Air
Sonya Tayeh, Hundred Days
Zach Morris & Jennine Willet, Ghost Light
Chris Bailey, Jerry Springer: The Opera
Monica Bill Barnes, One Night Only

Outstanding Female Dancer in an Off-Broadway Show
Anna Bass, One Night Only
Monica Bill Barnes, One Night Only
Elizabeth Carena, Ghost Light
Tiffany Mann, Jerry Springer: The Opera
Kenita R. Miller, Bella

Outstanding Male Dancer in an Off-Broadway Show
Colin Campbell, Disco Pigs
Robert Fairchild, Frankenstein
Troy Iwata, The Boy Who Danced on Air
Evan Ruggiero, Bastard Jones
Nikhil Saboo, The Boy Who Danced on Air


Theatrical Release
Basmati Blues - Choreographed by Noemie LaFrance, Rajeev, Dimple Ganguly, Vijay Ganguly, and Ryan Heffington
Finding Your Feet - Choreographed by Mark Jennings
Hello Again - Choreographed by Todd Underwood
Polina, danser sa vie - Choreographed by Angelin Preljocaj
The Greatest Showman - Choreographed by Shannon Holtzapffel and Ashley Wallen

Step - Directed by Amanda Lipitz
Bobbi Jene - Directed by Elvira Lind
Anatomy of a Male Ballet Dancer - Directed by David Barba and James Pellerito

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News: