Andy Karl, Brandon Victor Dixon, Laura Osnes, Andrea Martin Star in Boston Pops’ On the Town

Cabaret & Concert News   Andy Karl, Brandon Victor Dixon, Laura Osnes, Andrea Martin Star in Boston Pops’ On the Town
A West Side Story concert, also celebrating the Leonard Bernstein centennial, will follow in June.
Andy Karl Joseph Marzullo/WENN

As part of the 2018 Boston Pops spring season (running through June 16 under the direction of Keith Lockhart), the famed orchestra presents semi-staged performances of On the Town May 31 and June 1 in celebration of the Leonard Bernstein centennial.

Brandon Victor Dixon Joseph Marzullo/WENN

On the Town, which is directed and choreographed by Tony winner Kathleen Marshall, has music direction by David Chase.

The cast is led by Brandon Victor Dixon as Gabey, Andy Karl as Ozzie, Megan Lawrence as Hildy, Laura Osnes as Claire, Georgina Pazcoguin as Ivy, and Christian Dante White as Chip with Marc Kudisch as Pitkin/First Workman, and Tony winner Andrea Martin as Madame Dilly.

The ensemble is comprised of Kim Faure, Robert Hartwell, Anne Horak, Kevin Munhall, Jeffrey Schecter, Eric Sciotto, Erica Sweany, Megan Sikora, Dennis Stowe, and Lara Seibert Young.

The performances also have costume design by Michael Krass, sound design by Steve Colby, lighting design by Pamela Smith, and assistant direction and choreography by David Eggers. The stage manager is Karen Moore.

On the Town features music by Bernstein and a book and lyrics by Betty Comden and Adolph Green. Based on an idea by Jerome Robbins, the musical love letter to Manhattan opened on Broadway at the Adelphi Theatre in December 1944.


West Side Story in Concert will be presented June 15–16.

Joining Ali Ewoldt as Maria and Natalie Cortez as Anita will be Ross Lekites as Tony, John Arthur Greene as Riff, Mikey Winslow as Action, Christopher Rice as Baby John, Alex Ringler as Diesel, Ryan Ghysels as A-rab, Clay Thomson as Snowboy, Maya Post as Rosalia/A Girl, Kat Nejat as Consuelo, Alexandra Blake Redelico as Francisca, German Alexander as Bernardo, Dean Andre de Luna as Chino, Jeffrey C. Sousa as Pepe, and Will Lebow as Doc/Krupke.

This production is directed and produced by Chad Hilligus.

Tickets can be purchased online at or by phone through SymphonyCharge at (617) 266-1200 or (888) 266-1200.

(Updated May 31, 2018)

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Latest News