Angela Lansbury Heads the Starry Company of "All About Eve" Benefit Reading

News   Angela Lansbury Heads the Starry Company of "All About Eve" Benefit Reading
Angela Lansbury, Blythe Danner and Victor Garber are just some of the celebrities who will take part in a one-night-only reading of "All About Eve" March 30.

The 4 PM benefit for the Actors' Fund of America will feature a reading of Joseph Mankiewicz's original screenplay for 20th Century Fox. Based on Mary Orr's "The Wisdom of Eve," the classic film concerns a young aspiring actress (Eve) who insinuates her way into the life (and career) of Broadway star Margo Channing. As of press time, those actors lined up for the reading include Lansbury as Birdie, Danner and Garber as Karen and Lloyd Richards, Tim Curry as Addison de Witt, Carl Reiner as Max Fabian and Melissa Manchester as the pianist. Casting is still in progress.

Playwright David Rambo has adapted the screenplay for the starry event, which will be directed by Gordon Davidson. D. Martyn Bookwalter is the reading's lighting designer and John Gottlieb the sound designer. Celeste Holm, who starred as Karen Richards in the original film, will chair the event, and Tom Mankiewicz, the screenwriter/director's son, will be the honorary chairperson.

"All About Eve" will be held at the Ahmanson Music Center of L.A. County, located at 135 North Grand Avenue. Tickets, ranging from $40 to $1,000, are available by calling (800) 221-7303, ext. 133. Go to for more information.

The 1950 film "All About Eve" starred Bette Davis as Margo Channing, Anne Baxter as Eve Harrington, George Sanders as Addison De Witt, Holm as Karen Richards, Gary Merrill as Bill Sampson, Hugh Marlowe as Lloyd Richards, Gregory Ratoff as Max Fabian, Barbara Bates as Phoebe, Marilyn Monroe as Claudia Casswell and Thelma Ritter as Birdie Cooper. The movie was nominated for 14 Academy Awards, winning the prize for Best Actor in a Supporting Role (George Sanders); Best Costume Design, Black-and-White (Edith Head and Charles Le Maire); Best Director (Joseph L. Mankiewicz); Best Picture (Darryl F. Zanuck); Best Sound, Recording; and Best Writing, Screenplay (Mankiewicz).

The Actors' Fund of America is the only national non-profit organization that provides for the social welfare of all entertainment professionals.

Today’s Most Popular News: