April 19 MAC Awards To Honor Best in NY Cabaret

News   April 19 MAC Awards To Honor Best in NY Cabaret
The annual MAC Awards, given for excellence in the New York cabaret scene, will be handed out April 19 at the Manhattan Center's Hammerstein Ballroom.

The annual MAC Awards, given for excellence in the New York cabaret scene, will be handed out April 19 at the Manhattan Center's Hammerstein Ballroom.

Sponsored by the Manhattan Association of Cabarets of Clubs (MAC), the nominees were announced March 2. The awards ceremony will be directed by Charles Repole. For information call (212) 465-2662.

Here are the 1998 MAC nominees, in 34 categories:

Female Vocalist: Judi Connelli, Natalie Gamsu, Anne Runolfsson.

Major Female Vocalist: Betty Buckley, Ann Hampton Callaway, Karen Mason, Julie Wilson. Male Vocalist: Bobby Belfry, Charles Cermele, Christian Nova

Major Male Vocalist: David Campbell, Phillip Officer, Bobby Short.

Female Jazz Vocalist: Natalie Douglas, Laurie Krauz, Martha Lorin, Smitty [sic].

Male Jazz Vocalist: Allan Harris, Barry Phillips, Thos Shipley.

Major Female Jazz: Barbara Carroll, Blossom Dearie, Diana Krall.

Major Male Jazz: Jay Leonhart, John Pizzarelli, Billy Stritch.

Pop/Rhythm & Blues: Vanessa Campbell, Patrick DeGennaro, Naomi Kukoff, Lennie Watts.

Major Pop/Rhythm & Blues: Ruth Brown, Baby Jane Dexter, Darlene Love.

Female NY Debut: Farah Alvin, Rhonda Ayers, Collette Hawley, Jenifer Kruskamp.

Male NY Debut: Scott Coulter, Steven Kowalczyk, Chris Yates.

Musical Comedy Performer: Gary Lyons, Mark Nadler, Georga Osborne.

Major Musical Comedy Performer: Kaye Ballard, Marcia Lewis, Marilyn Michaels.

Special Musical Material: David Friedman/Mark Waldrop (Leading Men Don't Dance); Barry Kleinbort (The Tragic Nurse Porter's Lament (Orpheus Descending) for Marcia Lewis; Steven Lutvak (The Dinner Party -- Bagelmaker to the Tsar).

Revue/Musical Production of the Year:
An Evening With Carol Hall;
Leading Men Don't Dance
Listen To My Heart
("The Songs of David Friedman")
Three Men and a Baby Grand (by Lee Lessack, John Boswell & Brian Lane Green).

Song of the Year:
Tom Andersen (Yard Sale)
Carol Hall & Steven Lutvak (A Lover of High Wire)
Rick Jensen (Time)
Gary Lyons (Heaven Is Right Here on the Ground)

Recording of the Year:
Julie Gold (Dream Loud)
Christian Nova (Walking Happy)
Spider Saloff (The Memory of All That)

Major Artist Recording of the Year:
Betty Buckley (Much More)
Ann Hampton Callaway (After Ours)
Barbara Cook (Oscar Winners)

Female Comedy: Sunda Croonquist, Cory Kahaney, Anne Marie Karash.

Male Comedy: Jim David, Greg Fitzsimmons, Ron Poole.

Major Female Comedy: Sandra Bernard, Janeane Garofalo, Judy Gold

Major Male Comedy: Mario Cantone, Quentin Crisp, John Fugelsang

Musical Comedy/Vocal Group: The Accidentals; Doo-Wa-Zoo; Lounge-O Leers (Ricky Ritzel & Aaron Morishita).

Comedy/Improv Group: Gotham City Improv; Monteith & Rand; Spilt Milk.

Variety Production: Jamie deRoy & Friends; Julie Halston's New York; Angela LaGreca's Monday Nite Madness.

Steven Brinberg (as Barbra Streisand) in The Wedding Tour
Varla Jean Merman (Peel Me A Grape)
Ruby Rims (I'm Still Here, Too)

Singer Instrumentalist: John Bucchino, Tim DiPasqua, Steven Lutvak

Jazz Instrumentalist or Singer Instrumentalist: Bill Charlap, Rick Dellaratta, Teri Thornton.

Piano Bar/Restaurant Instrumentalist:
Eric Comstock (Archimboldo/Danny's)
Jerry Scott (Judys/The Oaks)
John Wallowitch (Danny's)

Piano Bar/Restaurant Entertainer:
Lisa Asher (Don't Tell Mama/Eighty Eight's)
Lizz Manners (Duplex/Rose's Turn)
Terri White (Eighty Eight's)

Technical Director: Matt Berman (Eighty Eight's); Jaye Lee (Eighty Eight's); Shawn Moninger (Don't Tell Mama).

Musical Director:
Christopher Denny (for Steven Brinberg, David Campbell & Karen Mason)
Dick Gallagher (for Lina Koutrakos, Karen Mason & Liliane Montevecchi)
Jeff Waxman (for Lisa Asher, Scott Coulter & Chris Yates)

Lisa Asher (Frank Dain / Thomas Diverniero / Vaughn Mouton)
Scott Barnes (Bobby Belfry / Leading Men Don't Dance / Listen To My Heart)
Barry Kleinbort (Kaye Ballard / Mary Cleere Haran / Marcia Lewis)
Sara Louise Lazarus (Bistro Awards / Tom Postilio / Anne Roberts)

The MACS are not to be confused with the Bistro Awards, a cabaret honor given by Back Stage magazine. Those will be presented March 9 at the Supper Club. (See the news story, "Cabaret Cavalcade: 1998 Back Stage Bistro Award Winners" for more information.)

Other highlights of the big month include Ann Hampton Callaway offering a special "Songwriters Showcase of MAC-nominated material, March 25 at the Lighthouse (East 59th St.); Dakota Staton at Danny's Skylight Room; the return of comedian Eddie Izzard (in Dress To Kill), and Frances Ruffelle's first NY gig since winning a Tony for Les Miz.

Playing at Rainbow & Stars through March 28 are three Broadway ladies, Dee Hoty (Will Rogers Follies), Sally Mayes (Welcome to the Club) and Nancy Opel (Triumph of Love), in Rhythm on the Rainbow...The Hot Harmonies of the Boswell Sisters.

But Cabaret Month isn't limited to Manhattan. At the Cinegrill in Los Angeles, March 8, 17 artists will perform in two shows, with talents to include Anne Kerry Ford (Threepenny Opera on Broadway), composer Albert Hague performing with his wife, Renee Orin; Claiborne Cary, Barbara Brussell and satirical songwriter Roy Zimmerman.

-- By David Lefkowitz

Today’s Most Popular News: