Ars Nova Will Feature World Premieres of Charlatan and Jacuzzi in 2014 Season

News   Ars Nova Will Feature World Premieres of Charlatan and Jacuzzi in 2014 Season
Ars Nova's 2014 season will feature two world-premiere productions, work by its Play Group and the annual summer ANT Fest.

Game Play will be presented Jan. 29-Feb. 8, featuring short plays and live music inspired by board games. Directed by Sash Bischoff, Peter James Cook, Portia Krieger and Andrew Neisler, Game Play will present works by Sofia Alvarez, Sarah Burgess, Sarah Gancher, Nick Gandiello, Stephen Karam, Brian Otaño, Daniel Pearle, Max Posner, Erica Saleh, A. Zell Williams and Bess Wohl and performances by Peter Benson, Marcia DeBonis, Dashiell Eaves, Brandon Gill, Ben Graney, Susan Heyward, Jessica Love and Carmen Zilles.

The new work Charlatan, written by Vinny DePonto and Josh Koenigsberg and directed by Andrew Neisler, runs March 18–April 12. "Fall into a world of lies and misdirection in the capable hands of this indelibly charming conman," press notes state. "Don't worry, he'll only fool you as much as you want to be fooled."

Hannah Bos and Paul Thureen's Jacuzzi is directed and developed by Oliver Butler; it will begin performances Oct. 1 and continue through Nov. 1. "In the 7th-best ski resort in southwest central Colorado, the homes and haunts of affluent vacationers have become the playgrounds of the local townies and seasonal itinerant workers," press notes state. "Class, competition and cold weather collide as the lifestyles of the rich intersect with the lifestyles of the aimless in the bubbling waters of a hot tub."

The 2014 artists in residence include new members of the Play Group: Liza Birkenmeier, Matthew-Lee Erlbach, Suzanne Heathcote, Meghan Kennedy, Justin Kuritzkes, Jonathan Payne and Celine Song, who join second-year members Sofia Alvarez, Brian Otaño, Daniel Pearle, Max Posner and Erica Saleh.

The group Uncharted, which provides music and theatre makers with peer support and artistic feedback as they work on the first draft of new musicals, now includes Cesar Alvarez; Andrew Butler and Andrew Farmer; EllaRose Chary and Brandon James Gwinn; Cory Finley and Jeremy Lloyd; and Chas LiBretto and Landon Marcus, who join second-year members Charles Vincent Burwell and James D. Sasser; Michael R. Jackson and Anna K. Jacobs; Gordon Leary and Julia Meinwald. In 2012, Ars Nova partnered with Manhattan Theatre Club to create The Writer's Room, a new program to commission, develop and support playwrights in the process of creating new work for the stage. Four playwrights or writing teams are selected by Ars Nova and MTC to receive Writer's Room Commissions. The commissioned writers then come together to participate in a program designed to offer extensive developmental support, with an eye toward production in MTC's Studio at Stage II.

As previously reported, The Writer's Room commissioned writers for 2013-14 are Rachel Bonds, Frances Ya-Chu Cowhig, Jackie Sibblies Drury, and the band of actors, musicians, and storytellers known as PigPen Theatre Co. They will join Adam Bock and Justin Levine, collaborating on the creation of a new musical, along with Thomas Bradshaw; Samuel D. Hunter; and Sharyn Rothstein, who continue to work on their Writer's Room Commissions from last year.

Visit for a complete schedule and more information.

Today’s Most Popular News: