ASCAP Names Winners of Young Composer Awards | Playbill

Related Articles
Classic Arts News ASCAP Names Winners of Young Composer Awards The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) has named the 40 winners of its 2006 ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards.
The awards, presented annually since 1979, are open to composers living in the United States up to the age of 30. Winners are selected through a juried national competition.

This year's winners include such accomplished young composers as Mason Bates, an electronica DJ whose symphonic works have been performed by the American Composers Orchestra and other ensembles; Daniel Kellogg, whose Ben was premiered by the Philadelphia Orchestra last fall; and Clarice Assad, who has been commissioned by violinist Nadja Salerno-Sonnenberg and has a thriving career as a pianist and singer.

The youngest winner is Eleanor Bragg, a nine-year-old from Massachusetts. A total of 13 composers below the age of 18 were honored.

The winners share $40,000 in cash prizes, and each receives a free copy of the Sibelius composing software. The judges were composers Eve Beglarian, Sebastian Currier, Charles Fussell, Marc Mellits, Alvin Singleton, Chris Theofanidis, and Randall Woolf.

The awards are named for Morton Gould, the composer and former president of ASCAP, and himself a precocious composer who was first published at the age of six. They will be presented at a ceremony at Lincoln Center on May 25. For a complete list of winners, visit


Explore Classic Arts:
Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!