At the Wheel Again, Darrington Will Play Coalhouse in Chicago Ragtime

News   At the Wheel Again, Darrington Will Play Coalhouse in Chicago Ragtime
Direct from Broadway, as the old press agents used to say, Quentin Earl Darrington will star as Coalhouse Walker, Jr., in Drury Lane Oakbrook's new production of Ragtime in suburban Chicago.
Quentin Earl Darrington
Quentin Earl Darrington Photo by Aubrey Reuben

Darrington was acclaimed for his big-voiced turn as the musician-vigilante in the fall 2009 Broadway revival of the musical by Lynn Ahrens, Stephen Flaherty and Terrence McNally.

Ragtime will kick off Drury Lane's 2010 season March 18-May 23. Opening is March 24 in Oakbrook Terrace, IL.

The resident staging will be directed and choreographed by Rachel Rockwell, who received a Jeff Award nomination for her direction of last season's hit Miss Saigon.

Drury Lane executive producer said Kyle DeSantis is calling the cast of 33 the largest ensemble assembled on the Drury Lane stage. Drury Lane Oakbrook has secured the original Santo Loquasto costumes from the 1998 Tony Award-winning Broadway production.

The cast also includes Valisia Lekae as Sarah, Larry Adams as Father, Don Forston as J.P. Morgan, Cory Goodrich as Mother, Robert Hildreth as Grandfather, James Earl Jones II as Booker T. Washington, Mark David Kaplan as Tateh, George Keating as Stanford White, Michael Lindner as Willie Conklin, Cathy Lord as Emma Goldman, Max Quinlan as Mother's Younger Brother, Summer Smart as Evelyn Nesbit, Stef Tovar as Harry Houdini and Jonathan Weir as Henry Ford. Daniel Coonley and Zachary Keller will share the role of The Little Boy; Jennifer Baker and Elianna Schnittman will share the role of The Little Girl; and Justin Hurst and Gabriel Simpson will share the role of Young Coalhouse.

The cast will also feature ensemble members Anne Acker, Melody Betts, Karen Burthwright, Gary Carlson, McKinley Carter, Jameson Cooper, Dwelvan David, Stephane Duret, Caitlainne Gurreri, Brandon Koller, Ann McMann, Genevieve Perrino, Karen Richardson, Travis Turner and George Wolff. The creative team includes set designer Kevin Depinet, projection designer Sage Carter, musical director Roberta Duchak, additional costume designer Brenda Winstead, costume manager Erika Senase, lighting designer Jesse Klug and sound designer Garth Helmy. For reservations and information, visit

Today’s Most Popular News: