Audra McDonald and Will Swenson to Host Drama League Awards

News   Audra McDonald and Will Swenson to Host Drama League Awards
Honorees for the evening include Bette Midler, Bill Berloni, and Michael Greif.
Will Swenson and Audra McDonald
Will Swenson and Audra McDonald Joseph Marzullo/WENN

The Drama League has announced that husband-and-wife duo Audra McDonald and Will Swenson will host this year’s Drama League Awards May 19 at the Marriott Marquis Times Square.

Previously announced special award recipients include Bette Midler, who will receive the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theater Award; Bill Berloni, who will receive the Unique Contribution to the Theater Award; and Tony winner Michael Greif, who will receive The Founders Award for Excellence in Directing.

The 83rd Annual Drama League Awards Ceremony and Luncheon will begin at 11:30 AM. Tickets are available by calling (212) 244-9494 or visiting

The ceremony will also honor the winners in five competitive categories: Outstanding Play, Outstanding Revival of a Play, Outstanding Musical, Outstanding Revival of a Musical, and the Distinguished Performance Award. The nominees for these categories will be announced April 19 during a special presentation at Sardi’s featuring Bebe Neuwirth (Chicago) and Patina Miller (Pippin).

For more information about the Drama League Awards, call (212) 244-9494 or visit


Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store