Barbara Cook's First Solo Album Will Be Released on CD

News   Barbara Cook's First Solo Album Will Be Released on CD
The CD will arrive a few days prior to the Tony winner's autobiography.
Barbara Cook
Barbara Cook Mike Martin

Stage Door Records has announced the debut CD release of Barbara Cook’s first solo album, Songs of Perfect Propriety by Dorothy Parker. The recording, which continues the company's Collector's Series, will be available beginning June 17.

Released on the independent Urania label in November 1958, Songs of Perfect Propriety features Cook performing a song cycle of Dorothy Parker poems and verses set to music by opera and chamber music composer Seymour Barab. The recording holds the distinction of being the first published song cycle that set various light verses by Parker from The Portable Dorothy Parker to music.

The complete track listing follows:

1. Song Of Perfect Propriety
2. Now At Liberty
3. Ultimatum
4. Renunciation
5. Inventory
6. Social Note
7. A Very Short Song
8. One Perfect Rose
9. Wisdom
10. Men
11. Lullaby
12. Comment
13. Symptom Recital
14. The False Friends
15. Love Song
16. Indian Summer
17. Somebody's Song
18. Song Of One Of The Girls
19. Bric-A-Brac
20. They Part
21. Chant For Dark Hours
22. The Choice
23. The Trusting Heart
24. Coda

As previously reported, Cook's autobiography, Then and Now: A Memoir, will be released by Harper/HarperCollins Publishers June 21.

For more information on the new recording visit

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News: