Barbra Streisand's "Release Me" Album/DVD Will Be Sold On QVC Sept. 20

News   Barbra Streisand's "Release Me" Album/DVD Will Be Sold On QVC Sept. 20
Barbra Streisand's upcoming album of never-before-heard material, "Release Me," featuring songs from The Wiz, Brigadoon and Finian's Rainbow, will be released digitally Oct. 8, but QVC shoppers will be able to purchase their own copy beginning Sept. 20.

Streisand collaborator Richard Jay-Alexander will appear on QVC at 7 AM ET and noon to speak about the forthcoming album and a special bonus DVD, which offers track-by-track commentary from Streisand, as well as archival footage of the entertainment icon in the studio.

Highlights of the new CD include “Didn’t We” written by Jimmy Webb and recorded in 1970 for an unreleased album project titled "The Singer"; the standard “Willow Weep For Me," an unreleased track recorded in 1967 for "Simply Streisand," arranged by Ray Ellis; Randy Newman’s “I Think It’s Going to Rain Today,” with Streisand on vocals and Newman on piano from the 1971 "Stoney End" sessions; an unreleased studio version of “With One More Look At You” from "A Star Is Born"; two tracks from the sequel to the acclaimed "The Broadway Album," titled "Back To Broadway" - “Home” (from The Wiz) and “How Are Things In Glocca Morra?"/"Heather On The Hill” (from Finian’s Rainbow / Brigadoon).

Many of the sessions for Streisand's more-than 60 albums yielded extra recordings, which weren't included on the albums and have been stored in her vault until now. Over the past year, Streisand has gone through the recordings to come up with this collection, "Release Me."

The complete track list for the CD follows:

1. Being Good Isn’t Good Enough (from Hallelujah, Baby!)
2. Didn’t We
3. Willow Weep For Me
4. Try To Win A Friend
5. I Think It’s Going To Rain Today
6. With One More Look At You (from "A Star Is Born")
7. Lost In Wonderland
8. How Are Things In Glocca Morra? / Heather On The Hill
(from Finian’s Rainbow / Brigadoon)
9. Mother And Child
10. If It’s Meant To Be
11. Home (from The Wiz)
Today’s Most Popular News: