Bastard Jones Musical Dominates Clive Barnes Award Nominations | Playbill

Industry News Bastard Jones Musical Dominates Clive Barnes Award Nominations
The awards for “talented young professionals” will be given in January.
Elena Wang
Elena Wang

The nominees for the eighth annual Clive Barnes Awards have been announced, divided into two categories of Dance and Theatre. One recipient from each category will be chosen and awarded a cash prize of $5,000 by the Clive Barnes Foundation.

Bastard Jones led the nominees in the theatre category, with both Evan Ruggiero and Elena Wang receiving nominations for their performances in the show’s Off-Broadway debut this summer. The new rock musical from Marc Acito and Amy Engelhardt played the Cell theatre Off-Broadway.


Grace van Patten was also nominated for a Clive Barnes Award for her performance in Hamish Linklater’s play The Whirligig.

The Clive Barnes Foundation was formed in 2009, in honor of theatre critic Clive Barnes, to create annual awards giving recognition, encouragement, and financial support to two talented young professionals.

The winners will be announced January 8, 2018, at a ceremony at the Walter Reade Theatre, Lincoln Center. The 2017 Theatre Award will be presented by Tony Award nominee and former New York City Ballet principal dancer Robert Fairchild (An American in Paris).

This year’s Dance Artist Award will be presented to Gemma Bond by ballet dancer David Hallberg. Michael Riedel will host.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Latest News

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!