Be More Chill’s Will Roland and Ana Villafañe Among Clive Barnes Awards Finalists

Awards   Be More Chill’s Will Roland and Ana Villafañe Among Clive Barnes Awards Finalists
The annual awards recognize the extraordinary work of young professionals in the fields of acting and dance.
Will Roland and Ana Villafañe
Will Roland and Ana Villafañe

Eight promising young artists working in the disciplines of drama and dance have been tapped as finalists for the ninth annual Clive Barnes Awards, which will be presented February 11, 2019, at the Walter Reade Theater at Lincoln Center.

Named in honor of the late theatre critic known for championing the work of his colleagues, in addition to mentoring early-career professionals—from journalists to performers—The Clive Barnes Awards bestow a cash prize of $500 to each of the eight finalists, while the two winning artists will each receive $5,000.

The finalists for this year’s Theater Artist Award are Edmund Donovan (Lewiston/Clarkston), Ian Duff (Dutch Masters), Will Roland (Be More Chill), and Ana Villafañe (Collective Rage: A Play in 5 Betties).

This year’s Dance Artist Award finalists are Joo Won Ahn (American Ballet Theatre), Zoey Anderson (Parsons Dance), Erez Milatin (New York Theatre Ballet), and Sebastian Villarini Velez (New York City Ballet).

Finalists are selected by a committee comprised of a panel of critics and performers in each field. This year’s Selection Committee for the Clive Barnes Award includes William H. Ausman, Diana Byer, Pia Catton, Jenny Chiang, Frank DiLella, George Dorris, Erik Forrest Jackson, Patrick Pacheco, James Sutton, and Valerie Taylor-Barnes.

Previous winners are Chase Finlay (2010, New York City Ballet), Nina Arianda (2010, Tony Award winner), MJ Rodriguez (2011), Isabella Boylston (2011, American Ballet Theatre), Rob McClure (2012, Tony Award-nominee), Lauren Lovette (2012, New York City Ballet), Jonny Orsini (2013), Lloyd Mayor (2013, Martha Graham Dance Company), Russell Janzen (2014, New York City Ballet), Alex Sharp (2014, Tony Award-winner), Gabe Stone Shayer (2015, American Ballet Theater), Dave Thomas Brown (2015), Khris Davis (2016), Indiana Woodward (2016, New York City Ballet), Gemma Bond (2017, American Ballet Theatre) and Evan Ruggiero (2017).

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News: