Bebe Neuwirth Will Host Inaugural Chita Rivera Awards

Awards   Bebe Neuwirth Will Host Inaugural Chita Rivera Awards
The awards ceremony will take place September 11 at the Al Hirschfeld Theatre.
Bebe Neuwirth and Chita Rivera Marc J. Franklin

Tony Award winner Bebe Neuwirth (Chicago, Frasier) will host the inaugural Chita Rivera Awards, which will be held September 11 at 7:30 PM at Broadway’s Al Hirschfeld Theatre.

The Chita Rivera Awards (formerly known as the Astaire Awards) honor choreographers and dancers on Broadway and Off-Broadway stages, as well as in film.

Randy Skinner (42nd Street, Dames At Sea, White Christmas) will direct and choreograph the evening that promises performances by The New York City Ballet (presenting “America” from West Side Story ), Robert Fairchild (An American in Paris), and American Dance Machine of the 21st Century (performing “We’ll Take a Glass Together” from Grand Hotel).

Additional performances from current Broadway shows will be announced shortly. The Chita Rivera Awards are presented by ADM21 founder and producing artistic director Nikki Feirt Atkins and Patricia Watt.

Nominations were announced May 1. Read the full list of 2017 Chita Rivera Award nominees here.

As previously reported, Tommy Tune will be presented with the inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award, while Diane Paulus will receive the Outstanding Contribution to Musical Theater Award as director, and Antonio Vendome will receive the Outstanding Contribution to the Arts and Humanities Award.

For tickets, beginning at $100, visit

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News: