Ben Platt Sets Departure Date from Broadway’s Dear Evan Hansen | Playbill

Related Articles
Broadway News Ben Platt Sets Departure Date from Broadway’s Dear Evan Hansen The Tony-winning star will leave the show this fall.
Ben Platt Matthew Murphy

A spokesperson for Dear Evan Hansen confirmed that Ben Platt, the show’s Tony-winning star, will depart the Broadway musical November 19. A replacement for Platt has not yet been announced.


His departure marks the conclusion of a long journey with the show, having been involved with the acclaimed new musical since its early developmental stages. Prior to Dear Evan Hansen arriving on Broadway at the Music Box Theatre, Platt played the title role in the world premiere at Arena Stage and during the show’s Off-Broadway debut at Second Stage Theatre.

The announcement, which Platt made on Twitter, follows the musical’s success at the 71st Annual Tony Awards in June, where it was the most-awarded production of the evening. The show, about a high school student longing for acceptance, was nominated for nine Tonys and won in six categories, including Best Musical.

To purchase Dear Evan Hansen tickets, click here.

The original musical features a score by the Tony- and Oscar-winning and Emmy-nominated songwriting team of Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (Dogfight, A Christmas Story), a book by Tony winner Steven Levenson (Masters of Sex), choreography by Danny Mefford (Fun Home), and direction by multiple Tony nominee Michael Greif (Rent, Next to Normal, If/Then).

Platt took home the 2017 Tony Award for Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role in a Musical for his emotional performance in the show’s title role, while Rachel Bay Jones won for Best Performance by an Actress in a Featured Role in a Musical for her performance as his mother Heidi. Oscar winners Pasek and Paul also took home their first Tony Award for Best Original Score, along with playwright Levenson, who won for Best Book of a Musical. Alex Lacamoire won his third Tony for Best Orchestrations, having previously won for Hamilton and In the Heights.

The cast of Dear Evan Hansen is completed by Laura Dreyfuss, Jennifer Laura Thompson, Tony nominee Mike Faist, Michael Park, Will Roland, Kristolyn Lloyd, Michael Lee Brown, Garrett Long, Olivia Puckett, Colton Ryan, and Asa Somers.

Exclusive Shoot with Ben Platt

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!