Bernadette Peters, Jerry Mitchell and The Rockettes Will Be Honored at Drama League Awards

News   Bernadette Peters, Jerry Mitchell and The Rockettes Will Be Honored at Drama League Awards
The Drama League will honor three theatre luminaries at the 79th Annual Drama League Awards May 17 at the Marriott Marquis Times Square.

Bernadette Peters
Bernadette Peters Photo by Andrew Eccles

The 2013 recipients include three-time Tony winner Bernadette Peters, who will receive the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award in recognition of her contribution to the musical theatre; Madison Square Garden Entertainment & the Rockettes, who will receive the Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award for the continuing efforts in promoting live theatre; and Tony Award winner Jerry Mitchell, who will receive The Founders Award for Excellence in Directing.

"It's a lifetime dream for those of us at The Drama League to be able to honor Ms. Peters, who stands among the greatest performers Broadway has ever seen. Her talent is exceeded only by her commitment to her charitable causes, and the same could be said of Jerry Mitchell, whose dazzling imagination has shaped both the Broadway Bares fundraising series and the Great White Way's most vibrant successes. And who doesn't love the Rockettes?" stated Gabriel Shanks, Drama League executive director, in a statement. "Celebrating over 85 years in New York, we are thrilled to honor them and Madison Square Garden Entertainment for indelible contributions that have made New York City the world capital of culture."

These Special Recognition Honors are in addition to the five competitive categories: Distinguished Play, Distinguished Revival of a Play, Distinguished Best Musical, Distinguished Revival of a Musical and the Distinguished Performance Award. Nominees for those categories will be announced April 23 at 11 AM ET at Sardi’s.

The Drama League Awards Eligibility Committee recently determined that productions transferring from Off-Broadway to Broadway, or vice versa, in successive years are now eligible for consideration in both seasons.

The 79th Annual Awards Ceremony and Luncheon includes cocktail reception, luncheon and awards presentation. For more information call (212) 244-9494, ext. 27, e-mail or visit *

First awarded in 1922 and formalized in 1935, The Drama League Awards are the oldest theatrical honors in America. They are the only major theatregoer awards chosen by audience members — specifically, by the thousands of Drama League members nationwide who attend Broadway and Off-Broadway productions.

Today’s Most Popular News: