Bernadette Peters Will Be Honored at 72nd Annual Theatre World Awards

News   Bernadette Peters Will Be Honored at 72nd Annual Theatre World Awards
The annual ceremony will be held at Circle in the Square.
Bernadette Peters on "Mozart in the Jungle"
Bernadette Peters on "Mozart in the Jungle"

The Theatre World Awards Board of Directors announced April 8 that three-time Tony winner Bernadette Peters, who can currently be seen on the Golden Globe Award-winning series Mozart in the Jungle, will be honored with the 4th Annual John Willis Award at the 72nd Annual Theatre World Awards Ceremony.

The annual ceremony, hosted by Peter Filichia, will be held May 23 beginning at 7 PM at Circle in the Square Theatre, currently the home of the Tony-winning musical Fun Home.

The John Willis Award, according to press notes, is given for "lifetime achievement in the theatre to honor the man who created and maintained the Theatre World tradition for 66 years, encouraging new talent in an often challenging business.… [The Award is given] to an individual whose lifetime achievements and personal generosity to the Theatre Community merit special recognition and acknowledgement.” Previous recipients of the John Willis Award include Alan Alda, Christopher Plummer and Chita Rivera.

First presented in 1945, the Theatre World Awards, founded by Willis, the editor-in-chief of both Theatre World and its companion volume, Screen World, are the oldest awards given for Outstanding Broadway and Off-Broadway Debut Performances. The Theatre World Awards are presented annually at the end of the theatre season to six actors and six actresses for their “significant, reviewable, debut performances in a Broadway or Off-Broadway production.” The ceremony is a private, invitation-only event followed by a party to celebrate the new honorees and welcome them to the Theatre World “family.”

The Theatre World Award winners are chosen by the Theatre World Awards committee, which comprises Roma Torre (NY1), David Cote (Time Out New York and NY1), Joe Dziemianowicz (New York Daily News), Peter Filichia (The Newark Star-Ledger, Emeritus) Harry Haun (Playbill), Matthew Murray (Talkin’ Broadway) and Frank Scheck (New York Post).

2016 Honorees for an Outstanding Debut Performance in a Broadway or Off-Broadway Production and the 8th Annual Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater will be announced shortly.

For additional information visit

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News: