Bill T. Jones Wins $50,000 Wexner Prize

Classic Arts News   Bill T. Jones Wins $50,000 Wexner Prize
The Wexner Center for the Arts in Columbus, Ohio, has awarded the 12th Wexner Prize to choreographer Bill T. Jones.

The award, which carries a prize of $50,000, is awarded to a contemporary artist "who has been consistently original, influential, and challenging to convention," according to a statement released by the Wexner Center, which is located at Ohio State University.

With his 20-year-old company, the Bill T. Jones/Arnie Zane Dance Company, Jones has performed five times at the Wexner Center and has also received a residency award in the form of financial and technical support for developing a new work.

Sherri Geldin, director of the center, said, "Astonishing in his choreographic range, Bill T. Jones can be both lyrical and lacerating, pugnacious and poignant. Ever the iconoclast, Bill has devoted his practice to the creation of a provocative body of work that is unflinchingly honest about the complexities of contemporary life."

Previous Wexner Prize winners include painter Gerhard Richter and designer Issey Miyake.

Recommended Reading: