Book of Mormon Offers Actors Fund Benefit Performance Dec. 7

News   Book of Mormon Offers Actors Fund Benefit Performance Dec. 7
The Actors Fund's special benefit performance of the Tony-winning musical The Book of Mormon plays The Eugene O'Neill Theatre Dec. 7 at 1 PM.

Andrew Rannells
Andrew Rannells Photo by Joan Marcus

Originally scheduled for Aug. 28, the performance was canceled following the shutdown of Broadway theatres during Hurricane Irene.

All proceeds from the performance benefit The Actors Fund. The company of Mormon are donating their time and talent to raise funds for the entertainment charity.

The acclaimed musical plays the O’Neill Theatre, 230 West 49th Street. The benefit performance is sold out.

"South Park" writers Trey Stone and Matt Parker and Avenue Q Tony winner Robert Lopez created the Tony-winning musical that opened to raves at the Eugene O'Neill Theatre March 24. It took home Tony Awards for Best Musical, Best Score and Best Book.

The Book of Mormon also earned Tony Awards for Best Direction (Parker and co-director/choreographer Casey Nicholaw), Best Performance by a Featured Actress (Nikki M. James), Best Orchestrations (Larry Hochman and Stephen Oremus), Best Scenic Design (Scott Pask), Best Sound Design (Brian Ronan) and Best Lighting Design (Brian MacDevitt). Josh Gad ("The Daily Show with Jon Stewart") and Andrew Rannells (Jersey Boys) star as an unlikely pair of Mormon missionaries who venture from Salt Lake City to AIDS-ravaged Uganda in the hopes of converting villagers with the story of Joseph Smith and the founding of the Mormon Church. The problem is: Only one of them has actually read the book.

The cast also features Rory O'Malley (The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee) as Elder McKinley, Tony winner James (All Shook Up) as Nabulungi and Michael Potts (Grey Gardens) as Mafala Hatimbi, as well as Lewis Cleale, Scott Barnhardt, Justin Bohon, Darlesia Cearcy, Kevin Duda, Asmeret Ghebremichael, Brian Tyree Henry, Clark Johnsen, John Eric Parker, Jason Michael Snow, Benjamin Schrader, Michael James Scott, Brian Sears, Lawrence Stallings, Rema Webb, Maia Nkenge Wilson, Tommar Wilson, Graham Bowen, Jared Gertner, Tyson Jennette and Nick Spangler.

For more information visit or call (212) 221-7300, ext. 133.

Today’s Most Popular News: