Broadway Revival of Speed-the-Plow Recoups

News   Broadway Revival of Speed-the-Plow Recoups
The current Broadway revival of David Mamet's Speed-the-Plow, which will conclude its limited run Feb. 22 at the Ethel Barrymore Theatre, has recouped its original investment, according to a Jan. 29 press release.

The production has been much in the news since the abrupt departure of its original star, Jeremy Piven, who left the production citing high levels of mercury.

Piven was succeeded as Bobby Gould by Tony winner Norbert Leo Butz and, most recently, by stage and screen star William H. Macy. Macy currently co-stars with original cast members Raúl Esparza and Elisabeth Moss. Neil Pepe directed.

"Speed-the-Plow focuses on two high-powered Hollywood executives, Charlie Fox and Bobby Gould, who have come up from the mailroom together," according to press notes. "Charlie brings Bobbie a surefire hit with a major star attached. Bobby seems certain to give the green light, until his beautiful new secretary gets involved."

The design team features Tony Award-winning scenic designer Scott Pask, costume designer Laura Bauer and Tony-winning lighting designer Brian MacDevitt.

Producers are Jeffrey Richards, Jerry Frankel, Steve Traxler, JK Productions, Ronald Frankel, Ostar Productions, Peggy Hill, Bat-Barry Productions, Ken Davenport, Scott Delman, Ergo Entertainment, Dede Harris, Alan D. Marks, Patty Ann McKinnon, Nicholas Quinn Rosenkranz, Adam Sansiveri, Jamie deRoy and Carl Moellenberg. The Ethel Barrymore Theatre is located at 243 West 47th Street. For tickets call (212) 239-6200 or visit

William H. Macy and Elisabeth Moss in <i>Speed-the-Plow</i>.
William H. Macy and Elisabeth Moss in Speed-the-Plow. Photo by Robert J. Saferstein
Today’s Most Popular News: