Broadway's La Cage aux Folles Will Close May 1 | Playbill

Related Articles
News Broadway's La Cage aux Folles Will Close May 1 The Tony Award-winning revival of La Cage aux Folles will play its final performance at the Longacre Theatre May 1 at 3 PM.

Christopher Sieber and Harvey Fierstein
Christopher Sieber and Harvey Fierstein Photo by Joan Marcus

When it closes, the production will have played 433 performances and 15 previews.  A national tour will launch this fall, starting in October in Des Moines, IA.

"We’re sorry to have to announce the final weeks of this exuberant production, which has brought great joy to audiences for the last year, as well as to everyone who has worked on the show, on stage and off,” the producers said in a statement. “But we were thrilled to present Terry Johnson’s brilliant production to great acclaim in New York and now, the rest of the country will discover this wonderful new La Cage on national tour this fall. In the meantime, we will enjoy ‘The Best of Times’ while they last at the Longacre, with the wonderful Harvey Fierstein and Christopher Sieber leading our brilliant Broadway company.”

The award-winning production is now headed by four-time Tony Award winner Harvey Fierstein (Albin) and two-time Tony Award nominee Christopher Sieber (Georges).

The cast also features Mike McShane as M. Dindon/M. Renaud; Veanne Cox as Mme. Dindon/Mme. Renaud; Chris Hoch as Francis; Heather Lindell as Anne; A.J. Shively as Jean-Michel; Christine Andreas as Jacqueline; Wilson Jermaine Heredia as Jacob; Ashley Kate Adams as Colette; Michael Lowney as Etienne; and Bruce Winant as Tabarro.

Also starring as the Cagelles are Matt Anctil as Angelique, Sean Patrick Doyle as Chantal, Yurel Echezarreta as Phaedra, Logan Keslar as Bitelle, Terry Lavell as Mercedes and Karl Warden as Hanna. The production also features Christophe Caballero, Todd Lattimore, Dale Hensley, Caitlin Mundth and Cheryl Stern. La Cage aux Folles, about a gay couple who run a St. Tropez drag club, features music and lyrics by Jerry Herman and book by Fierstein, based on the play by Jean Poiret. This production is choreographed by Lynne Page and directed by Terry Johnson, who won a 2010 Tony Award for his direction. It won the 2010 Best Revival (Musical) Tony. The original cast included Kelsey Grammer and Tony winner Douglas Hodge.

For more information, visit

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!