Broadway's Rock of Ages Welcomes Genson Blimline; Mitchell Jarvis Takes Leave of Absence

News   Broadway's Rock of Ages Welcomes Genson Blimline; Mitchell Jarvis Takes Leave of Absence
Genson Blimline takes over the role of Lonny in the Tony-nominated musical Rock of Ages beginning Dec. 19 at the Helen Hayes Theatre.

Genson Blimline
Genson Blimline

Mitchell Jarvis, who has starred in the musical since it opened on Broadway in 2009 at the Brooks Atkinson Theatre, is taking a leave of absence from the show to take part in the Alley Theatre production of The Toxic Avenger in Houston, TX. Jarvis is scheduled to return to Rock of Ages Feb. 20, 2012.   

Genson Blimline was recently seen on Broadway in the original cast of Rodgers and Hammerstein's South Pacific at LCT. Other recent credits include Mask the Musical and Emmet Otter's Jug-Band Christmas, in addition to national tours of South Pacific (Stewpot), A Chorus Line (Al DeLuca), Smokey Joe's Cafe (Michael), Grease (Teen Angel) and Footloose (Chuck Cranston).

The cast currently stars Emily Padgett as Sherrie, Dan Domenech (original national tour cast member), in his Broadway debut as Drew, Jeremy Woodard (original Broadway cast member) as Stacee Jaxx, Adam Dannheisser (original Broadway cast member) as Dennis, Cody Scott Lancaster (original Toronto cast member) as Franz, Michele Mais (original Broadway cast member) as Justice, Josephine Rose Roberts (original Toronto cast member) as Regina and Paul Schoeffler (original Broadway cast member) as Hertz. Rounding out the cast are Tessa Alves, Joey Calveri, Tony LePage, Michael Minarik, Jennifer Rias, Andre Ward, Katie Webber and Emily Williams.

The musical comedy Rock of Ages borrows rock hits of the 1980s to tell the story of showbiz lovers in L.A. The score includes "Every Rose Has Its Thorn," "I Wanna Know What Love Is," "Here I Go Again," "Don't Stop Believin'" and more.

Rock of Ages is written by Chris D'Arienzo, directed by Kristin Hanggi and choreographed by Kelly Devine. Rock of Ages is produced on Broadway and world-wide by Matthew Weaver, Carl Levin, Jeff Davis, Barry Habib, Scott Prisand, Michael Cohl, Reagan Silber, and Relativity Media.

For more information visit

Today’s Most Popular News: