Brothers of the Dust Is a Big Winner at Chicago's Black Theater Alliance Awards

News   Brothers of the Dust Is a Big Winner at Chicago's Black Theater Alliance Awards
The Black Theater Alliance Awards, honoring African Americans who achieve excellence in theatre, dance or other areas of the performing arts in the Chicagoland area, were presented Oct. 24 at the Illinois Institute of Technology.

The awards address the 2010-11 theatre season. Playwright Darren Canady's Brothers of the Dust, produced by Congo Square Theatre Company, was named Best Play. Awards also went to its director Daniel Bryant; lead actor James T. Alfred; lead actress Shanesia Davis; featured actor Austin Talley; and sound designer Rick Sims.

The drama concerns three brothers and layers of family history in rural Arkansas. Playwright Canady shared the BTAA playwriting award with Darlette McAlpin for her Field of Souls, produced by the eta Creative Arts Foundation.

Other 2011 BTAA award winners include:

Best Director of a Musical: Lilli-Anne Brown, Bailiwick Chicago's Passing Strange

Best Actor in a Musical: Jayson Brooks, Bailiwick Chicago's Passing Strange Best Featured Actor in a Musical: Osiris Khepera, Bailiwich Chicago's Passing Strange

Best Actress in a Musical: Katrina V. Miller, Black Ensemble Theater's All in Love is Fair

Best Featured Actress in a Play: Celeste Williams, Victory Gardens Theatre's Tree

Best Ensemble: The Trip, eta Creative Arts Foundation

Best Musical Direction: All in Love is Fair, Black Ensemble Theater

Most Promising Actor: Wardell Julius Clark

Most Promising Actress: Christina Harper

Best Choreography: Ronald K. Brown, Gye Nyame, Muntu Dance Theatre of Chicago

Best Set Design: Shaun Renfro, Blues For An Alabama Sky, Greenetree Productions

Best Lighting Design: Casey Diers, Ghosts of Atwood, MPAACT

Best Costume Design: Michael Alan Stein, The Nativity, Congo Square Theatre Company

For more information, visit

Today’s Most Popular News: