Busch, Kopit, Lee, Harrison and Van Zandt to Judge Samuel French Play Festival

News   Busch, Kopit, Lee, Harrison and Van Zandt to Judge Samuel French Play Festival
Tony nominees Charles Busch, Arthur Kopit and Leslie Lee will serve among the judges for the 34th annual Samuel French Off-Off Broadway Short Play Festival.

Running July 14-19 at the Peter Jay Sharp Theatre, the work of over 40 playwrights will be showcased in the festival. A panel of judges has been assembled, including Busch (The Tale of the Allergists Wife, Die Mommie Die), Kopit (Nine, Wings), Lee (First Breeze of Summer, Black Eagles), as well as Jordan Harrison (Doris to Darlene, Amazons and Their Men) and Billy Van Zandt (Love, Sex and the I.R.S., The Property Known as Garland).

The judges will select six of the short plays to be licensed and published in a collection by Samuel French, Inc.

The 34th Annual Samuel French Off-Off-Broadway Short Play Festival will present the bus that got cut over its eye by Matthew Paul Olmos; Airborne by Laura Jacqmin; American Royal by Gabe McKinley; Amphibians by Casey Wimpee; (baptism) by Harrison David Rivers; Barron, CA by Jessica Hinds; The Cooking King by Sharon E. Cooper; Diving Kitty by Suzanne Bachner; Doll Play by Tony Glazer; The Dorsal Striatum by Trish Harnetiaux; Drop by Pete Barry and J. Michael DeAngelis; The Education of Macoloco by Jen Silverman; Foreclosure by George Cameron Grant; Free Play by Michael Niederman; Generation Graffiti by Janine Nabers; Gilbert, or Death by Obituary by Michael Vukadinovich; H.R. by Eric Coble; The Hardly Wonder by Jason Gray Platt; Humble Pie by Leslie Gwyn; I Can Tell Your Handbag is Fake by Dean Lundquist; Just Knots by Christina Gorman; Laying Off by James McLindon; Metro Psalm by J. Julian Christopher; Mom Was a Carney by Andrew Podell; Monday by Gloria Williams; The Monster by Eric Fallen; Nine Point Eight Meters Per Second Per Second by Pete Barry; realer than that by Kitt Lavoie; Slutty Slutty Butterslut: Three Pieces About Baking by Lucy Alibar, with music by Lucy Alibar and Portia Krieger; The Student by Matt Hoverman; Survival by Dano Madden; Teddy Ballgame by Caitlin Mitchell; This is Jeopardy by Killian Beldy; Thucydides by Scott Elmegreen and Drew Fornarola; A Time Ripe and Rare by Sue Bigelow and Carol Davis; Toad Suck by Rebecca Cohen; Up With (Some) People by Joshua Conkel; We Appear To Have Company by Greg Freier; We Semi-Solids Melting Into Air by Jon Kern; and Yes Yes Yes by David Johnston.

The Samuel French Off-Off-Broadway Short Play Festival finalists will be announced July 19. Tickets, priced $18, may be purchased by phoning (212) 279-4200 or by visiting TicketCentral.com

The Peter Jay Sharp Theatre is located at 416 West 42nd Street in Manhattan.

Today’s Most Popular News: