Camp, Harris, Merkerson, Marvel and White to Present at Obies; Passing Strange to Perform

News   Camp, Harris, Merkerson, Marvel and White to Present at Obies; Passing Strange to Perform
The 53rd Annual Village Voice Obie Awards — celebrating the 2007-2008 Off-Broadway and Off-Off Broadway seasons — will be held May 19 at Webster Hall in Manhattan.
Neil Patrick Harris
Neil Patrick Harris Photo by Aubrey Reuben

Among those presenting awards at the 8 PM ceremony will be Bill Camp, Neil Patrick Harris, S. Epatha Merkerson, Elizabeth Marvel, Julie White and Bradley Whitford. The evening will also feature a performance from the cast of the new Broadway musical Passing Strange.

For the first time in Obie history, the awards will be webcast live online via on

With the exception of the Lifetime Achievement and Best New American Play awards, the Obies, press notes state, "have no fixed categories and no listed nominations. Artists receive Obies on their own merit and not in competition with others." The Village Voice also provides grant money to theatre groups and individuals; this year $10,000 in grant money will be awarded as well as $1,000 for a Best New American Play or emerging playwright, and $2,000 to the recipient of the Ross Wetzsteon Award, which "honors an institution that fosters the development of new theatrical voices."

Michael Feingold, the chief theatre critic of the Village Voice, will chair the Obie Awards committee. Feingold's committee of judges includes Voice critic Alexis Soloski, Variety critic Mark Blankenship, Bloomberg News editor and critic Jeremy Gerard, playwright-director Robert O'Hara (2007 Obie winner for In the Continuum), set designer Neil Patel (twice an Obie winner for sustained excellence of design), and Time Out New York/New York Sun critic Helen Shaw. Clint Allen serves as secretary to the committee.

The Obie Awards were created in 1955 by Jerry Tallmer. Past recipients include Dustin Hoffman, Meryl Streep, William Hurt, Morgan Freeman, Mos Def, Amy Irving, Kevin Kline, Nathan Lane, Olympia Dukakis, Robert Duvall, Kevin Bacon, Alec Baldwin, Kathy Bates, James Earl Jones, Felicity Huffman and Harvey Fierstein, among others. Webster Hall is located in Manhattan at 125 East 11th Street. The awards are by invitation only. For more information visit

Today’s Most Popular News: