Canonico Is Spring Awakening's New Moritz Beginning Aug. 4

News   Canonico Is Spring Awakening's New Moritz Beginning Aug. 4
Spring Awakening ensemble member Gerard Canonico steps into the role of Moritz in the Tony-winning Broadway company of Spring Awakening Aug. 4.

Gerard Canonico
Gerard Canonico

Canonico succeeds Blake Bashoff in the role of the ill-fated schoolboy. Bashoff departed the Broadway company Aug. 2 to head the cast of the musical's upcoming national tour.

In a statement Spring Awakening producers said, "We have been very proud to have Gerard in our ensemble, and now are thrilled he is our newest Moritz. We also wish to thank Blake Bashoff for his superb work in the Broadway company, and look forward to his terrific Moritz being seen by audiences across the country."

Prior to Spring Awakening, Canonico appeared in Les Miserables, A Christmas Carol, The Prince and the Pauper, Children's Letters to God and Casper.

On Aug. 18 Canonico will be joined by "Weeds" star Hunter Parrish, who will become the latest actor to play Melchior, the part originated by Tony nominee Jonathan Groff. Prior to Parrish's arrival, Jesse Swenson and Matt Doyle will alternate in the role of Spring Awakening's catalyst. The role was recently vacated by Canadian musician Kyle Riabko, who will also star in the Spring national tour.

The Broadway cast of Spring Awakening currently features Alexandra Socha (Wendla), Blake Daniel (Ernst), Emma Hunton (Ilse), Matt Doyle (Hanschen), Andrew Durand (Georg), Amanda Castaños (Martha), Gabriel Violett (Otto), Emily Kinney (Anna), Caitlin Kinnunen (Thea), Christine Estabrook (Adult Women), Glenn Fleshler (Adult Men), Zach Reiner-Harris, Morgan Karr, Alice Lee, Eryn Murman, Jesse Swenson and Jenna Ushkowitz. Based on the 1891 play by Frank Wedekind, Spring Awakening won eight 2007 Tony Awards, including Best Musical. Spring Awakening features direction by Michael Mayer, choreography by Bill T. Jones, book and lyrics by Steven Sater and a score by Duncan Sheik.

Songs featured in the Tony-winning score are "All That's Known," "And Then There Were None," "Blue Wind/Don't Do Sadness," "Left Behind," "Mamma Who Bore Me," "My Junk, "The Bitch of Living," "The Dark I Know Well," "The Guilty Ones," "The Song of Purple Summer," "The Word of Your Body," "Those You've Known," "Totally Fucked," "Touch Me," "Whispering" and "The Mirror-Blue Night."

Spring Awakening's cast album earned a Grammy Award for Best Musical Show Album.

The musical made its world premiere Off-Broadway at the Atlantic Theater Company in June 2006. Spring Awakening transferred to Broadway the following November, where it continues to play at the Eugene O'Neill Theatre.

For further information visit SpringAwakening.

Today’s Most Popular News: