Carmen Jones Leads 2019 Lortel Award Winners

Awards   Carmen Jones Leads 2019 Lortel Award Winners
The ceremony was held May 5 at NYU Skirball Center, hosted by Mike Birbiglia.
Carmen_Jones_Classic_Stage_Company_Production_Photo_2018_111.  Anika Noni Rose, Tramell Tillman.  Photo by Joan Marcus_HR.jpg
Anika Noni Rose and Tramell Tillman Joan Marcus

Produced by the Off-Broadway League, by arrangement with the Lucille Lortel Theatre Foundation, the awards were handed out May 5 at NYU Skirball Center for Performing Arts beginning at 7 PM. Mike Birbiglia, recently on Broadway in The New One, hosted. See the full list of winners below.

Outstanding Play
Pass Over
Produced by Lincoln Center Theater/LCT3
Written by Antoinette Nwandu

Outstanding Musical
Rags Parkland Sings The Songs Of The Future
Produced by Ars Nova
Written by Andrew R. Butler

Outstanding Revival
Carmen Jones
Produced by Classic Stage Company, Alan D. and Barbara Marks, Eric Falkenstein, and Covent Garden Productions
Book and Lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II, with Music by Georges Bizet

Outstanding Solo Show
Produced by Annapurna Theatre, Megan Ellison, Sue Naegle, Skye Optican, Kevin Emrick, David Luff & Patrick Myles, Barbara Broccoli, Patrick Catullo, Diana DiMenna, Daryl Roth, Eric Schnall, Jayne Baron Sherman, DryWrite, Soho Theatre
Written and Performed by Phoebe Waller-Bridge

Outstanding Director
Lee Sunday Evans, Dance Nation

Outstanding Choreographer
Rick and Jeff Kuperman, Alice By Heart

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Play
Juan Castano, Transfers

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Play
Quincy Tyler Bernstine, Marys Seacole

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play
Gabriel Ebert, Pass Over

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play
Crystal Lucas-Perry, Ain't No Mo'

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Musical
Steven Skybell, Fiddler on the Roof in Yiddish

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Musical
Anika Noni Rose, Carmen Jones

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical
George Salazar, Be More Chill

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical
Soara-Joye Ross, Carmen Jones

Outstanding Scenic Design
Arnulfo Maldonado, Sugar In Our Wounds

Outstanding Costume Design – *TIE
Montana Levi Blanco, The House That Will Not Stand
Paloma Young, Alice By Heart

Outstanding Lighting Design
Lap Chi Chu, Mlima’s Tale

Outstanding Sound Design
Dan Moses Schreier, Carmen Jones

Outstanding Projection Design
Tal Yarden, Superhero

Outstanding Alternative Theatrical Experience
On Beckett
Produced by Irish Repertory Theatre
Exploring the Works of Samuel Beckett, Conceived by Bill Irwin

Outstanding Body of Work
Telsey + Company

Playwrights’ Sidewalk Inductee
María Irene Fornés

Edith Oliver Service to Off-Broadway Award
Terry Byrne

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News: